Sansa Clip+. First thoughts.

I give up.

I bought a Sansa Clip+ three days ago, and am ready to shoot it.

Quick disclaimer: I am a software developer with 18 years of experience.  I have owned numerous mp3

players over the years, including a Creative Zen, iPod & iPod Touch, and have used these with a variety 

of PCs/Macs over the years, with various syncing software.  None has been as unfriendly (or as unfinished?)

as the Clip+'s software.

I have a collection of 200+ “Teach yourself French” mp3s, which I wanted to be able to carry 

around easily, but the lessons must (obviously) be played in a particular order, so Playlists are very

important to me.

Before buying the Clip+, I went onto SanDisk’s website, downloaded and read the instructions.  I also

read the reviews on Amazon, and based on the glowing reviews, I bought an 8Gb Clip+.

I got it home, ran Windows Media Player 11, said that, yes, I would like to automatically sync 

my Clip+ with WMP11.  I selected a few Playlists, and dragged them to the Clip+ device.  Clicked on the 

Sync button, and, wonderful, WMP happily showed it syncing, file-by-file, playlist-by-playlist.

Afterwards, it showed that the Clip+ has just 5Gb free, rather than 7.3Gb, and I could use Explorer, 

browse the device, and view my freshly synced mp3 files, sitting there on my Clip+.  But the device 

didn’t actually show any Playlists.

The only visible playlist was the default “goList” playlist.   I spent ages trying to get the other PlayLists

showing, but failed miserably.  The files were there, I could view the individual files on the device, but 

it refused to show the playlists.

So, I thought perhaps I’d need to upgrade the firmware.

However, each time I’ve tried this (on two different XP machines), the SansaUpdater reports "Service 

update is not available".

Even worse, this morning I connected my Clip+ to my laptop, but it didn’t show up (as a removable drive)