Sandisk Extreme 240GB with latest R211 firmware, read errors and jamming

I’ve had these problems from the first day I installed the SSD to my laptop (Medion Erazer X6817, I think it has HM67 chipset).

Sometimes it freezes during boot and hangs on the “starting windows” logo. Sometimes BSOD 0x5c etc, and some other neat things. The SSD seems fine on usb enclosure (shows up in Win7 recovery mode). So I think that the problem is on the first sectors of the SSD. I’m not a pro so correct any mistakes if I say any.

Is there any known compatibility issues with the SSD and my chipset? I’ve installed Win7 in AHCI mode and I’ve never changed that. Normally the SSD has booted after a few tries but now it hasn’t. I’m thinking of secure erasing it via Linux live-distribution but that is the last option.

Any advice would be neat.

Also, could there be any specific BIOS settings that could interfere with the startup/cause the hangs?

can you let us know what SATA chipset your motherboard is using?

if the issue is recoverable secure erase should do it. I would gibve that a try and if the issue continues the drive may need to be replaced. 

Yeah I just managed to drive through the secure erase with Parted Magic live (thank goodness I had a regular working hdd). I managed to install Windows 7 but after rebooting again the drive still hangs on the ‘‘starting Windows’’ sequence… So I guess I’ll have to replace it then.

CPU-Z tells this, so as this is a “customized” laptop but still a “commercial” pre-made laptop, therefore there ain’t too much info on the SATA-chipset… At least I don’t know how to find that out.

Edit: meh I just noticed that I managed to upload a pic that had 2x the “spd” part on it… Well, here it is…

Edit 2:

I tried Everest Ultimate also, but as it shows on BIOS, it also shows up in Everest, the most annoying sentence I’ve read for a while: “to be filled by O.E.M.”… -.-

Oh yes, must add some more info.