Music on e280 but not showing in WMP

Hi, All…

I’m new to the MP3 world and admit I need alot of education.  I’ve learned alot by reading the forum, the Web, and the Sandisk videos and appreciate all the feedback you’ve all provided to us newbies.  I have an issue I don’t understand and would appreciate some help.  My resources:  e280; WMP 11, .18A firmware, Win XP Pro.  As of three hours ago, everything worked fine.  A month ago, I loaded about 500 songs and it’s been working great.  I was ripping CDs to my lib earlier, about 10 of them.  They transferred to my lib just fine.  I connected my Sansa and in WMP I could see my old music was there.   I fooled around, played some music, did some editting.  I did not sync the files I added tonight.   I disconnected my Sansa to check the USB mode, plugged it back in to do the syncing, and in WMP, it now says the device is empty.  It’s wrong!!  I can see all the music in Windows Explorer.  I can see and hear the music on my Sansa.  It will absolutely not show up under e280 in WMP.  I am using manual mode as I do not want all the library files on the Sansa.   What am I doing wrong?

Let me make sure I understand how this works:  The process of syncing does more than simply show a list of music here and there.  It actually does the copying of files from the PC to the Sansa or from the Sansa to the PC.  Am I understanding this correctly? 

• Is there a specific sequence with regard to connecting the Sansa and opening WMP?  Am I doing that wrong? 
  • Could I have disconnected it incorrectly and damaged files?  When I disconnect, I go to my systray, click on the USB icon, choose “stop device”, and select Mass Storage.  Is this correct?

After I ‘played’, the Sansa, insisted on ‘Writing’, even tho I had not transferred anything.  It did this repeatedly, every time I tried to connect after that.  Also, I’m getting a message that says ‘Refreshing Databases’ every time I disconnect now.  Is this a function of .18A?