File organization nightmare....

I am the proud owner of a new 8 gig Fuze–but I have not yet “introduced” it to my computer with Windows Media Player running. Why? Because I’ve been collecting audio files for nearly 10 years now–and many, many of them have incomplete tags. They probably were created before the tag format was standardized, or ripped using various software that didn’t create proper tags. So my WMP library is mostly just one big jumble.

On my own hard drive, the files are actually somewhat organized, into folders by artist–but my own folder system is not recognized by WMP, and the bulk of my files are listed under “unknown artist” when they show up in the library.

I’ve dragged and dropped a few files manually to the Fuze, but they only show up listed under “songs,” and in alphabetical order by original file name.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how I might wade out of this organizational nightmare and bring some sense to my file system, so that when I start putting more files on the Fuze, they are a bit better organized? Yes, I could laboriously wade through hundreds of files and manually re-tag them. No, I’d really rather not have to do that. Suggestions would be most welcome.

Actually, what I would REALLY like (listen up, Sandisk people) is an option added to the Fuze to organize files by a user-defined system of folders, as opposed to just by song, by album, by “favorites,” by genre, etc.

user defined folder structure makes total sense to me !

sorry to say, but most mp3 players now do not work in the folder / file method anymore. don’t get me wrong, I love browse by folder, and all my mp3 collections are voided of id3 tags, but these new mp3 players are solely based off id3 tags for organization. why? I don’t know, maybe because ipod set that standard.