WAV files does not show Album or Artist

I’m new to the Sansa community, I tried to put some WAV files into the Clip+ with seperate folders, but in the Clip it does not show Album or Artist and they are under Unknown, is there a way I can fix it? (there are tags when I play it on itunes and the ipod, its just “unknown” on the Sansa)

THanks!

I don’t believe that WAV files are tagable and that’s why you don’t see the artist or album information.  I would recommend encoding the WAV files you want on your Clip+ to a lossless format like FLAC.  You can tag FLAC files, so you’ll be able to add the artist and album info that you want.

whats the easiest way to enconde FLAC on a mac?

I agree that FLAC makes sense (I don’t know Mac encoders) – that said, have you tried the folder browsing feature in the clip? If you have your files in artist/album folders, you can still browse them that way via the folder view, which isn’t dependent on tags…

yep they’re in their own folder but it didnt show in the browser on the clip, they got moved to unknown

Vic225 wrote:
yep they’re in their own folder but it didnt show in the browser on the clip, they got moved to unknown

This means that you dont have proper Metadata with the file. This can be done by tagging the files in a program like Mp3tag (I dont know how it works with WAV files) or MediaMonkey. If you add Artist, Title, and Album Info to the file, and then add it to the player again, it should show up in the right place. 

I don’t use macs, but I’m sure if you did an internet search on FLAC for Macs, you would find some free programs that can encode to FLAC on Macs.  I know that there are a lot of Mac users who use FLAC.

richter wrote:
I don’t use macs, but I’m sure if you did an internet search on FLAC for Macs, you would find some free programs that can encode to FLAC on Macs.  I know that there are a lot of Mac users who use FLAC.