stuck on 'refreshing media' / Sansa Fuze 8gb

I have been using my Sansa Fuze with great satisfaction for 6 months now. Not had any big issues.
I just updated the firmware v01.02.26F (this is not the first time I have updated the firmware)

It was then getting stuck on ‘refreshing your media’ after I disconnect it from PC. The device was about 90% full (appox 7,5gb of 8gb in use, only MP3s and a few OGG)
I left if for about an hour, and still it was stuck. I had to hold down the power for 10seconds to reset it. Tried powering up again, and it got stuck ‘refreshing media’.

Once in this state the only way I can get the device to power up is to clear all music off it with Windows Explorer (e.g. via a PC)
I did back up all the music on it to a temp folder on my PC (called ‘temp_music’, so I could easily copy it back later)

I found that if I copy a few tracks over, the device starts up, e.g. it does not get stuck on ‘refreshing media’, But if I try to copy all the music back over from my ‘temp_music’ folder (7,5gb mp3) it gets stuck again (hangs on ‘refreshing media’).

Any ideas what could be causing the device to get stuck? Perhaps a corrupt file? But would a corrupt file really cause the Fuze to get stuck like this?
Is there any way to check if one of my mp3s is corrupt, without having to open (and listen to) all 1500 tracks?

Just to add a bit more info. I have tried to ‘format’ the device via the SanzaFuze menu system > settings > system settings > format > yes. But this did not fix the issue.

Message Edited by andrewaaa5 on 05-19-2009 03:45 AM

Message Edited by andrewaaa5 on 05-19-2009 03:45 AM

Message Edited by andrewaaa5 on 05-20-2009 05:43 AM

@andrewaaa5 wrote:

Any ideas what could be causing the device to get stuck? Perhaps a corrupt file? But would a corrupt file really cause the Fuze to get stuck like this?

Yes

Is there any way to check if one of my mp3s is corrupt, without having to open (and listen to) all 1500 tracks?