Sansa Player given as gift (used) Not showing up on My Computer or Windows Media Player HELP!

So, of course, i’m a bit of a noob when it comes to computer management. And electronics… Anyway. I was recently given a sansaclip player as a gift. Nothing fancy, just a used player, just the player itself. Music already on it. Plays well, charges well, lights up and everything when plugged into a USB adapter, but it doesn’t show up on My Computer or on anything else, for that matter. Kind of an issue if i want to add more music.

I skimmed some of the FAQs and such, but i’m pretty much lazy and just kind of want a step by step response I suppose…

E-mail: J.stenton@live.com

Messenger: fallenangellifeanddeath@hotmail.com

Either contact works, or just a response here.

Thanks!

What’s your operating system?  Do you meet the Clip’s requirements stated in the manual (see the Clip specifications sticky thread above)?

Can you connect in USB “MSC” mode (which is easier as to the requirements it has)?  On the Clip, go to Settings, USB, and choose MSC.  If you don’t have that option, your Clip has an earlier firmware (and should be upated); you can force an MSC mode connection by turning the Clip off, putting it into hold (on switch all the way down), and then hold the center button down as you connect the Clip and USB cable to your computer.

If i’m correct in your meaning, then Windows XP something. Requirements are all met, I believe unless I’m not understanding something, which is a possibility. And USB is not a part of the settings (how would I go about updating it or by update do you mean go buy a new one?) and as for forcing the MSC, should something pop up…or…what? Do I keep the center button held until soething happens, and if so, what?

1. Turn Clip off

2. Move switch on left side of Clip down to “Hold” position

3. Press-and-hold down the center button (in the middle of the circle) while plugging your Clip into USB

4. See if your Clip shows up under “My Computer”