Refreshing Your Media - a catch 22

I just bought a Sansa Fuze a couple days ago and have already spent endless hours trying to set it up.  I finally figured out that being in MSC mode results in much faster transfers than being in Auto Detect mode, but I’m still having a problem whenever I disconnect the Fuze from the computer.  It immediately goes into a ‘Refreshing Your Media’ screen, which takes 15-20 minutes to complete every time.  So after charging the Fuze it then uses up 20 minutes of battery power during this refresh phase, a classic catch 22.  I’ve read the user manual front to back as well as several posts on this board but have not been able to solve this problem.  I’ve even downloaded mp3tag and made sure all the tags say ‘ID3v2.3’.  I will admit I’m not too technically savvy, but I can usually figure stuff like this out with much less effort. 

For the record, I have an 8 GB Sansa Fuze with a 32GB micro SD card attached (purchased both in original packaging from Amazon), and am using Windows Vista on my PC.  Can anyone offer any suggestions as to what the problem could be?  Based on what I’ve read this is not normal, so hopefully someone has some ideas.

Thanks

The tags need to be ID3V2.3 ISO 8859-1. Get rid of album artist, and composer tags, as the player doesn’t support these. Get rid of comments. Get rid of the V1 tags.  Getting rid of embedded album art may also help. Put the album art in the same folder as the album, and have it named folder.jpg

And while JK98's suggestions may speed up the database refresh some, if your player and card are full (or nearly full) with a few thousand tracks 15 minutes or so realistically _is _the time it will take for it to read and catalogue them.

Why does it have to re-read the media every time it is turned on? Once it reads everything,  it should be done until files are added or deleted. A 15 minute wait every time I want to listen to music is not acceptable.