Problem with folder labels

For some reason, when I rip a CD and then paste the files into my Fuze, the folder name has all sorts of extraneous letters and numbers in it.

For instance, I ripped an album called “Piano Sonata D571” and pasted it into the Schubert folder in my Fuze. But it displays in Windows Explorer as “C9FA0200_Piano Sonata D571” (It displays without the gibberish in the Fuze itself.)

I’ve tried ripping the CD with iTunes as well as with Windows Media Player, but it doesn’t make a difference. I’ve been ripping CDs and pasting the files into my Fuze for a couple of years, and have never had this problem before. Any idea what’s going on?

I did recently put a larger external memory card into my Fuze. Could it have something to do with that? Do I need to do something with the formatting?

Thanks.

JEP

This problem happens when the player’s USB mode is set to MTP or when it is set to autodetect and the player connects in MTP mode. You should use MSC mode except if you have protected files.

Here is the easy way to fix it. I assume you have copies of all the music on your player also on your PC. If not, copy it to your pc. Next delete all the music on the the card in the player, and delete all the music in main memory. Disconnect the player, and set the USB mode on the player to MSC(settings, system settings, USB mode>MSC.) Reconnect the player and copy the music to the player again. Keep in mind that if you update the firmware on the player, you need to rest the USB mode.