Newbie question about folders...

Hi, I’m a newbie here…and since I just purchased a Sansa Clip Jam, and used to own 4 consecutive sansa clips (the old one with the circular selector on the front), I have noted the same old problem with the  clip Jam sometimes dropping subfolders I create in Windows.  Like, I’ll have a load of music in a folder, and then drag and drop to the clip.  But when i detach the clip from the computer, there’s no folder, just a long list of the songs or items that were in the folder on my computer…it essentially disappears when on the clip for listening.
This produces a problem in the Clip Jam, since, say, with a large archive of songs (it’s now 8 gig instead of the old 2), you’ve got to scroll and scroll to get to what you want, and it all goes by pretty fast.
I used to try making subfolders to copy over to the clip with the contents in the subfolder (i.e. an artist name in the main folder, and the subfolder titled with the album of theirs and its contents).  Sometimes that works.  Sometimes not.
I’m currently using Win10 Pro.
Is there something i can do to ensure that I get an orderly set of items on my clip?  (titled folders with titled subfolders, etc.)
Any help apprecitated.

The player reads the tags in the music file’s header (before the actual music.) Try editing the song(s) with a program like Mp3tag. Most every device creates a database of the songs so when you get a list of albums it goes to the DB and displays “album” results, same with artist, song, genre.

I have all my music arranged by folders and I’ve found it doesn’t help most of the time with the actual players. It only helps me keep track.