netlibrary audiobook help

howdee,

new sc4g, trying to play netlibrary audiobooks.  they sync and show up in the sc as the several hour books they are, but when i try to play them, the sc skips to the next “song.”  USB mode is on autodetect and i’ve got most recent firmware.  any help/suggestions would be much appreciated.  thanks.

Are you using Windows XP? What Service Pack?

What version of Windows Media Player are you using?

What format are the audiobooks?

How are you “Syncing” the files?

Can you play music files that you have put on the player? 

I’m no expert, but I just put my first netlibrary book on my clip last week.  I had a few problems, like I couldn’t get mediamonkey to transfer it, and when I first used windows media player to transfer it it wouldn’t play.  What I did then was actually play it first with wmp to make sure wmp had downloaded the correct license.  Once I had done that I was able to transfer it again and it played on the clip.  The other thing I did was change the genre tag to audiobooks so it would be able to use the new bookmark features of the newest clip firmware.

@rdow wrote:
I’m no expert, but I just put my first netlibrary book on my clip last week.  I had a few problems, like I couldn’t get mediamonkey to transfer it, and when I first used windows media player to transfer it it wouldn’t play.  What I did then was actually play it first with wmp to make sure wmp had downloaded the correct license.  Once I had done that I was able to transfer it again and it played on the clip.  The other thing I did was change the genre tag to audiobooks so it would be able to use the new bookmark features of the newest clip firmware.