How can i get the original firmware for the sansa clip?

I downloaded too much on my sansa clip, and it gave the me the message not enough room fo music database, please free up 30 mb.  I tried to plug it in to my computer to make the room, but the same message was displayed.  After a few attempts of pluggin it in and trying to turn it on so i could make room, it just wasnt working.  So my sister’s boyfriend suggested that i reset the firmware.  Im no tech savvy so i went along with it, and let him do it.  I can’t find the firmware for it now, and i threw out the box a day or two after i got it.  Basically i’d appreciate it if someone could give me the original firmware, or tell me where to find it.  Again im not a techie person so this all confuses me a little, but i just want to gt it running again, b/c now it doesnt even turn on.

Try looking here. http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/board/message?board.id=clip&thread.id=15109

Lee

i dont want to update it, i want the original thing, because the first thing it says in your link is turn on your sanse device, which mine doesnt do, T.T if i try to turn it on nothing happens.

sorry about that accpeted solution, i though the button let your choose if it was, then i though clicking it again took it off

Steve,

The firmware is protected in the Sansa’s reserved partition.  Formatting the device, for example, clears the data area of memory only.

First, we need to power up your Clip.  Hold the power switch in the ON position for 20 seconds, 30 maximum.  It will perform a soft reset of the device.  Then see if it will power up normally.

µsansa

Message Edited by microsansa on 07-06-2009 09:25 AM

normally my sister’s bf is a very tecchie guy, he built his comp so i trusted him when he said to delete the firmware, i tried what u said and nothing happens, i cant turn it on.