Flat FM Radio Sound: EQ Settings Do Not Apply for Digital FM Tuner?

I recieved my SanDisk Sansa Clip + as a gift yesterday. As most of you, I am truly thrilled with this device and I am enjoing it around the clock. The only thing that bothers me it is the flat sound of FM Radio. I searched the forum for the answer to this issue and the only one is that “the FM tuner is analog”, which is absolutely not true - the tuner is digital one (according to the official specifications).

Any suggestions? Is this an isolated issue or we all have the same experience?

Best regards

The EQ does not work with the FM radio. True, the tuner is digital, but the signal is analog which is why it doesn’t work.

Thanks for the reply. Well I am not an expert but I still think that the sound should be easily processed. Sorry for having problem to accept this explanation. I 'll keep it simple: eg. we all have mobile phones, car audio systems, home recievers etc. and I never faced this “analog radio signal input” limitation until now? Obviously Sansa have some hardware/software limitations regarding FM radio reciever (just a guess).

Again, thanks for the reply.

@dunav wrote:

. . . we all have mobile phones, car audio systems, home recievers etc.

Yes, and they all receive an over-the-air analog radio signal on the AM & FM frequency bands. To get a digital signal, you must have HD or satellite (like Sirius) radio.

Again, the type of the signal is not an issue here. Sorry that you do not understand my point.

Thanks anyway.

And so, is it that a digital equalizer such as the Clip’s does not work on an analog signal such as AM/FM radio?