questions about using the Clip Zip to play audiobooks

I’m new to mp3 players and the Clip Zip.  The main thing I want to use it for is to play audiobooks that I download from the internet and listen to the books in my car when I travel.  

My questions are:

1. How do I listen to a downloaded book in my car using the Clip Zip?  I have a USB port in my car…do I use this?  I do NOT want to use earphones to listen to the book; I want to listen with my plain ol’ ears as if I was listening to a book on CD or to the radio.

2.  Will I be able to download more than one average length book to the Clip Zip at a time?

3.  How do I recharge the Clip Zip in my car…using the USB port?

Thanks!

Welcome!

1.  Depending on your car’s stereo system, you may be able to connect the Clip via the USB.  In that case, your car may only be able to read the contents of the player’s internal memory.  And, I believe, your player should be set, unde its System settings, to MSC USB mode.

Having said the above, I hope I got it right (and I’m sure others wil correct me, and amplify)–my car system doesn’t have a USB connection.  Instead, I simply connect the player via a cable between the Clip’s headphone jack and the car stereo’s Aux. port–works just great.

2.  As a general matter and depedning on size, you can indeed download many audiobooks onto the Clip at the same time–more than you would be listening to at a time.  And if you listen to more than 1 at a time, the Clip will remember where you are in each.   :slight_smile:

3.  Recharge via the Clip’s USB port, connected to your car’s power–e.g. a USB adapter in the cigarette lighter jack.  (Note:  if you’ve connected your player to your car stereo via USB, I don’t know if the stereo also will charge your player at the same time–I assume so, but don’t have that configuration and it could also depend on your particular car/stereo.)

Hope this helps–

1 Like