How to achieve same sound quality as Fuze preloaded music?

Hi everyone!  I am new to working with MP3 players and have searched this forum with no luck for an answer to my question.  I have successfully transferred music files from my PC to my Fuze 4G, however the sound quality of my transferred files is not as good as those songs that came preloaded on the Fuze.  I am using WMP 11 with the following settings: 

Rip Settings:  Format=WMA, Audio Quality=192 Kbps

Fuze Properties:  Select quality level automatically

As I said, I am a newbie and may be doing something basically stupid.

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Message Edited by bawoo169 on 04-23-2010 05:55 AM

First, use a better ripping program than WMP. Winamp (Gold Version $20 US), Media Monkey, EAC, dbPoweramp or a slew of others will all do a better job. Choose one that uses the LAME mp3 encoder (most do, but not WMP). Rip in .mp3 format and at a bit-rate of 256kbps.

Or go ‘whole-hog’ and convert to FLAC (Free Lossless Audio Codec) for CD quality. The trade-off for this is that the file size will be about 3 times larger (than 256k .mp3). Only you can decide if you want quality or quantity. I think 256kbps is a great compromise. Then there’s also OGG . . .

TMC, Tapeworm. Too many choices.

Media Monkey is a good ripper with an interface similar to WMPlayer.Get the free version at www.mediamonkey.com .

But you have to do a geek trick to use it. Its LAME encoder,  lame_enc.dll , times out after a trial period.  So after you install Media Monkey, immediately get the latest LAME from here : http://lame.buanzo.com.ar/ . For Windows, you can use either the .exe or the .zip. The .exe will create a Program Files folder called Lame for Audacity. The .zip will unzip wherever you send. it. In the folder it makes, find lame_enc.dll and copy it. Then find lame_enc.dll in Media Monkey (probably C:\Program Files\Media Monkey) and substitute the newer version of lame_enc.dll.