Whats the best format besides FLAC to put music on Sansa Fuze?

Im sure there are alot of programs out there, but since Im new to the Sansa and want the best possible sound out of it, (i know FLAC files are considered one of the best but it takes up alot of space)

What would be the next best method to rip music from a CD and then drag and drop it into the Sansa without alot of complications to set up, or with a good tutorial for the newbies like me to use, but like and appreciate misic that hasnt been compressed alot?

Thank you

Brian

@fixit5561 wrote:

Im sure there are alot of programs out there, but since Im new to the Sansa and want the best possible sound out of it, (i know FLAC files are considered one of the best but it takes up alot of space)

What would be the next best method to rip music from a CD and then drag and drop it into the Sansa without alot of complications to set up, or with a good tutorial for the newbies like me to use, but like and appreciate misic that hasnt been compressed alot?

Thank you

Brian

There are plenty of possibilities for you, starting from simply ripping your CDs at a high bitrate using Windows Media Player, if quality is your primary concern- running 192 KB/s and up in either wma or mp3.

You can use an application like Media Monkey, Winamp, or others, which will both rip and manage the device.  With any such program, you can manually navigate to the music folder and drag-and-drop if preferred.

There’s Vorbis.org (or even MM) for an ogg encoder.

For FLAC, the FLAC homepage is directly linked for download via Wikipedia and Google.

As suggested above (rather briefly) try searching for mp3 / wma / ogg vorbis encoders or ripping engines in Google.  The choices will amaze you.

µsansa

FLAC takes up so much space that is why I had asked what the norm is out there. It’s great to have you guys to help us newbies along I dont know what Id do without ya’s!! Thanks a bunch.