M4a to mp3 conversion using iTunes

Hi all!  My first post here.  I am fairly new to mp3 players.  I have a 5th generation 30GB iPod (my one and only player)and have all my music in iTunes.  I ripped my entire CD collection in the default import setting of AAC.  So all my music is in m4a format.  

I recently bought my twin daughters the 2GB Sansa Fuze (1 for each, of course!).  Now I’m in the process of re-ripping CDs in the mp3 format.  Doh!  Now I’m wishing I had originally ripped as mp3s!

When I do this process using iTunes, it tells me I already have this album in my collection, and asks if I want to replace it.  I am wondering if there is any downside to telling iTunes to replace the m4a format with the mp3 format.  For some CDs, I said “Don’t replace” and wound up with duplicate tracks–one in the m4a format and one in the mp3 format.  I listened to both, and they sounded equally good to my novice ears.

Am I going to regret deleting/replacing the m4a formatted tracks?

I also saw an option to “Convert selection to mp3” within iTunes.  Is this a better way to go rather than re-ripping everything? 

Thanks for your help.  I’ve read lots of your posts, and found much help already!

Is this just a really dumb question?

I would definitely suggest using the “convert selection to MP3” function, much faster.  You could use the “Create MP3 Version” function instead, which will not replace your AAC versions, if you want.

I do this all the time with iTunes Plus (non-DRM) purchases.  I hear no difference in sound quality.

Thank you PromisedPlanet.  I will definitely convert to MP3s.  Is there an advantage in having music in BOTH formats?  The downside I see in having the same music in both formats is that when I listen with my iPod, I will hear each track twice.  Of course, my daughters won’t have this problem, since it will only appear once (as MP3) when they use their Sansa Fuzes.

No advantage that I can think of, but you could save the AACs just-in-case.