Curiosity poll - What format do you use & why?

Just wondering what format you all use & why.  I’m new at this, and I’ve already screwed up my library once not knowing the difference between WMA & WMApro, so I figured I’d ask for some advice.  I heard that WMA is “better” than MP3 for quality & compression, but that they both become “transparent” at 128kb anyways.  What format/bitrate do you use?  Does the Fuze work better with one particular format over another?  I have an 8gb Fuze and about 200 cds (I don’t mind getting a microSD card if needed).  Also, I’d like to use the ReplayGain to even out the sound for shuffle play.  Thanks guys!

Kelly

Battery life is longest using MP3. If you use a different format, battery life could be 20%-30% less. I use 256 kbps mp3. I ripped my CDs a few years ago, and am too lazy to rip them again. If I was starting from scratch now, I would use mp3 variable bitrate averaging around 192 kbps, which probably gives sound quality equal to 256 kbps constant bitrate, but will let you have 1/3 more songs in the same space.

Sounds good!  :smiley:  Anybody else?

Mostly 192 vbr mp3.

I rip my CD’s to FLAC, then I convert the FLACs to either LAME V2 mp3 vbr (for the gapless albums, becuase I think one day my Clip+ will play gapless MP3 ) , or WMA 75% vbr for everything else.

A Mix of 320K MP3, MP3 VBR, and OGG

Wow, it’s all across the board!  Cool.  My Windows Media Player lets me rip WMA cbr, WMA vbr, WMApro, WMA lossless, MP3, & WAV.  I’ve already ripped a bunch in WMApro only to find out Fuze doesn’t support it.  Do you guys know if it supports the others?  What program would you guys suggest for ripping MP3’s with a variable bitrate?  Thanks for the opinions!  :smiley:

KellyR wrote: