Update 1.210 issue

I recently updated my Sansa e260 with version 1.210. It was playing my songs fine and then out of nowhere, when I tried going to the next song, it said “Bad track” about 4-5 times before playing a song. And also, I had about 386 songs on my e260 but now there are only 60 songs available. I have my device running in MSC mode because when I switch to MTP, my laptop (running Vista) does not recognize the device. When I go to the MUSIC folder when in MSC mode, none of my files are showing up…just folders with artist names. Is there a way to revert back to the previous update? Or is there a way to solve this issue? Thanks for any help.

Message Edited by Seventhree on 09-12-2009 11:32 AM

Firstly, there is no firmware version 1.210. That is the Sansa Updater which would have nothing to do with your problem. And by posting in this board could explain why you’re getting a ‘limited’ response. You’d be better off posting in the e200 board.

The Updater is not necessary. Period. Uninstall it from your system.

1. There will be no further firmware updates for this model so it won’t be needed.
  2. It is a system resource hog and slows your computer down considerably.
  3. It trys to find a new f/w version every time you plug your player into your computer. Since it won’t find any, but insists on telling you anyway, it is nothing more than ‘nag-ware’.
  4. The Updater won’t be able to tell if your firmware is corrupted, only if a newer version is available.
  5. It’s just as easy to manually update your firmware yourself.

The ‘Bad Track’ message indicates corrupted files. You can run ChkDsk or simply format the player’s memory. Note: formatting will erase everything (but not firmware or operating files) giving you a clean slate from which to start over. This won’t do any good though, unless you fix the corrupted files.