Highlighted

Destroyed headphone jack. (like older posts)

[ Edited ]
I too have destroyed my headphone jack.  not totally sure how but it seems to only work when I hold the male plug at an angle and sometimes only plays out of one headphone. I think the problem is I stretched out the connecting wires or something but I'm not an expert so I have no idea.  anyone know how to help?
Message Edited by skikles on 11-05-2009 07:36 AM
Message Edited by skikles on 11-05-2009 07:45 AM
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru

Re: Destroyed headphone jack. (like older posts)

Try a different pair of head/ear phones. If it's the jack itself that's broken, **bleep**can the View.
Highlighted

I know it isn't the headphones but I really want an mp3 player.  You really got nothing for me? Maybe reconnecting the pins to the motherboard?
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru

If you're the adventurous type, this post in the e200 board may be similar enough to the View to be of help.
Highlighted
SanDisk Fanatic

It's probably a cracked trace on the mainboard. The View's headphone jack placement is poor design and very prone to breaking. The C200 series are similar, but worse. The jack sits at a corner of the board which is slotted to fit the jack body. It leaves a small section of the board very prone to flexing at the jack on that side. The result is a cracked connection or trace after repeated flexing. BAD DESIGN!

The Fuze and Clip were improved with the entire jack body mounted on top of the board.

If you do fix it, fill the area under the jack and board corner with RTV. This will help stiffen that area better.

8GB Blue FUZE w/The Original DIY Lineout Cable and AT Button H-Phones Fitted To AT WM5 Headband:All Custom Built
Highlighted
SanDisk Senior User