video without SMC - first success + tutorial for linux and windows

I’d like to report my first successful video conversion without SMC:

• using ffmpeg and mencoder (on Linux) to convert from MPEG-PS (MPEG1 Video, MPEG1-Layer2 Audio) to AVI

• modifying the AVI file with avi-mux (under wine on Linux)

• playing (and seeking) a 90 seconds movie on the Fuze :smileyvery-happy:

Please consider this as a first informal post only. I need to do more testing and it needs a bit of time to put things together until I get at least a half-decent recipe or howto.

Well, it was kind of puzzling. I’m not a video expert at all, in fact when I started my investigation about two weeks ago I didn’t know anything about AVI file structure, I-, P- or B-frames and alike. I am not keen on watching video or tv. I mostly consider this a waste of time … But I must confess I am a Linux addict and I love my fuze. And I know there are powerful tools for almost any video format conversion available on Linux. So I tried to find a solution for video conversion without SMC.

After reading some documentation and a lot of articles on the web I digged down deeper into some working videos. My first understanding was that it is necessary to separate two problems apart: the specifics of video stream format and the specifics of the avi container. Finally that was the clue other people probably have not considered hard enough!

Edit:    The tutorial is out! It provides solutions for both Linux and Windows. Please follow this link.

Message Edited by ewelot on 08-20-2009 03:01 PM

Message Edited by ewelot on 08-20-2009 03:06 PM

Message Edited by ewelot on 08-25-2009 10:11 PM

Message Edited by ewelot on 08-25-2009 10:13 PM

where’s the tutorial? :wink:

The procedure which I used is as follows:

1. Convert video/audio to proper format:

In a Linux terminal running bash I define the following function

tofuze () {  
 size="224:176"  
 fps=20  
 vbit=683 # in kbit/s  
 abit=128 # in kbit/s