gibberish chinese characters in sansa fuze

Hi

I just bought a new sansa fuze and downloaded some chinese songs…but some of the characters are readable whereas some are squares and funny signs…how should i go about it so that the fuze will display all chinese characters correctly.

Thank you.

/jonie

Edit the id3 tags of your songs, and used chinese character on the id3 tags.

hi jayryl

thanks for your reply.

can you explain what is a id3 tag, and how to go about changing it.

i am fairly new to all these, so i need some detail help.

edit: when i look at the folder that i put in the songs, all the chinese characters are ok.  it is only when i play the song, that all the funny characters came out.

/jonie

ID3 tags are electronic labels in the files: Album, Artist, Title, etc. That’s where your Fuze gets those listings.

They are, unfortunately, not standardized, and there are different ways for the characters to be encoded–that is, how it tells the processor to display them. Unicode, or UTF, which is often used when CDs are ripped to mp3 on Apple computers, can show up those Chinese characters on the Fuze. The Fuze is made to work with Windows encoding, not Unix (Apple) encoding.

It’s easy to fix the tags with the free program mp3tag. Download it from that link.

When you install mp3tag, allow it to add itself to context menus (checkbox during install). Open it and go to  Tools/Options/Tag/Mpeg. Set Write to  ID3v2.3 ISO-8859-1. (That is Windows character encoding–you’ll also see UTF-8 and UTF-16, but you don’t want them.)