Reply
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-04-2009

VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

OK I HAVE HAD IT WITH VIDEOS!!!

 

I have done everything I can think of, including calling customer service...3 times.  I have followed the directions from this post http://forums.sandisk.com/sansa/board/message?board.id=smc&thread.id=944  I downloaded each of those programs, but my issue is with AVC. 

 

I have two digital copies from the DVD manufacturer (Mamma Mia and The Dark Knight) that I am trying to load on to my fuze.  I can watch the videos with no issues on Windows Media; however that is as far as it goes.  I have tried to encode them to .mp4 AND .avi files (which btw, why do we need to do this??) but they come out garbled.  The sound is garbled and the picture is a whole bunch of little squares that are of no value.

 

Does any one have a suggestion?  I am not extremely technical, so step by step would be great. 

 

Thank you in advance.........

Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 3,676
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

I have no experiance wih Mama Mia but Ill assume its the same as The Dark Knight.  You my friend are dealing with a DRM. I got my copy of TDK on Christmas eve and spent 4-5 hours a day until yesterday trying to break this DRM (Its new and unlike any I have seen before), I quit last night the DRM is to encripted into the Video. I emailed a contact I had at Warner Bros. About a possible unlock code or a kill sequence as is sometimes written. I have not heard back yet. I got the digital copy as well and had the same issue.

Conversion Box
Did you notice this forum has a search function? Its not impossible to figure that someone else asked your question before you did, and we have answered it(probably multiple times). Check it out! Or Check out the Knowledge Base

Highlighted
SanDisk User
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-14-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

So, I realize that all of this is illegal, whether you buy it, rip it, convert it, or if you download it and convert it.  So, to make myself feel justified I usually only download movies that I have already bought and own, and since there is really no legal way to get a movie onto the fuze, I feel inappropriately justified in downloading illegal copies that will allow me to convert them and load them onto my fuze.  Like I said, I know it's wrong, but in my opinion, the movie is mine, regardless of if I watch it on a portable DVD player, a big screen tv, or converted to fit on my fuze. So, long answer to your question... is I let other people worry about the DRM stuff, and I download digital versions of my purchased DVD's.
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 1,460
Registered: ‎12-27-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

Wouldn't it be more efficient (not to mention less likelihood of getting a bad copy) to rip your DVDs yourself?
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 3,676
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

Lets Get one thing Straight if you bought it you can rip it or download digital copy's licensed from the studio. Once its on your computer then you can put it on Your Fuze and those of people in your Household. You cannot however give the copy to others outside of your household. I do think if you bought it and it dont come with a dig copy and you download it that nobody would fault you but bear in mind it is the same as breaking into somebodys house and stesling there dvd collection and if cought you could be prosecuted as such by the studios. DRM's are a way of life right now. There are work arounds for the most common ones but this newest one is a whole new Demon, I hope to hear about a Kill code or a work around from the studio, they are usually pertty good about helping in things like this.

Conversion Box
Did you notice this forum has a search function? Its not impossible to figure that someone else asked your question before you did, and we have answered it(probably multiple times). Check it out! Or Check out the Knowledge Base

Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 3,676
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

[ Edited ]

@gwk1967 wrote:
Wouldn't it be more efficient (not to mention less likelihood of getting a bad copy) to rip your DVDs yourself?

Tried it and Still got garble, I even downloaded Daniusoft converter pro andpaid $40 for a software I could write myself, and not peanuts. I ripped and I downloaded digital copy, thats why I say this newest DRM is Some Kinad Monster.

Message Edited by Conversionbox on 01-05-2009 01:26 AM

Conversion Box
Did you notice this forum has a search function? Its not impossible to figure that someone else asked your question before you did, and we have answered it(probably multiple times). Check it out! Or Check out the Knowledge Base

Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 1,460
Registered: ‎12-27-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

[ Edited ]

My question was for shlurpee (who downloads DVD rips), not specifically about the Dark Knight digital copy. On the matter of TDK, has anyone tried ripping the DVD version (skipping the "digital copy" route) using DVDFab, then using a conversion program like SMC or Any Video Converter? Supposedly, a recent update to DVDFab includes support for the encryption used on TDK.

 

EDIT: The free version of DVDFab can be found at dvdfab.com, at the "free stuff" link at the bottom of the page.

Message Edited by gwk1967 on 01-05-2009 01:10 AM
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 3,676
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

Ill try it in the morning!

Conversion Box
Did you notice this forum has a search function? Its not impossible to figure that someone else asked your question before you did, and we have answered it(probably multiple times). Check it out! Or Check out the Knowledge Base

Highlighted
SanDisk User
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎09-26-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

 have ripped DK to hard drive with latest DVD Fab Decrypter (freeware) and backed up to DVDR with NO issues. and this is with a P1 (150 mhz) system at that.
Highlighted
SanDisk User
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-27-2008

Re: VIDEOS ONTO FUZE

LAWL you still have a pentium 1 computer? Does it run on gasoline? Ok I will stop joking now. I used to have a pentium 1. I couldn't even play games on it. Had like 128mb of total ram. Games like Star Craft chugged majorly, I couldn't imagine converting/ripping movies or watching them on a P1. Must take like all night.

 

 

You can get a Pentium 64 bit processor and motherboard, and about 2 gigs of ram for less than $250. Throw in a decent video card and you are out the door for $330 after tax. That includes a new case and power supply. All you would have to do is use your existing monitor/keyboard/mouse/hard drive and you just upgraded to something more current and capable for less then $400.