Syncing music from 2 different 'puters

:smiley:Hello to you all! I am very new at this (boards and the Fuze) but have a question. My husband and I have different music in both of our computers and seems when he tries to sync some music from my computer, it messes up what he has synced from his computer. Makes no sense to me. One would think that you could take music from ANY source and it shouldn’t mess up what you already have! Anyone have any help?? We use WMP-11 to work with and both have a Fuze. We do not sync everything at once; just what we want…help!!? Oblossum :smiley:

The easiest way is to avoid the problem (Windows Media Player, that is) altogether! You don’t _ need _ to ‘sync’ to your device to put music on it. Simply drag & drop the files from your computer to your Fuze. I prefer MSC Mode, but you can also do it in MTP Mode if you have to.

When you tell WMP to ‘sync’ music to your device on your computer, you telling it to make your player the same as your computer’s hard drive (music-wise in this case). Let’s say your husband does the same thing on his computer. Now you have a song (or songs) on your computer that your husband also wants on his Fuze. He plugs in his Fuze to your computer and WMP sees that the library on his Fuze is different than what it sees on your computer, so what does it do? It erases all the music on his player and copies your library from your computer over to his Fuze. :cry:

I can’t understand why people enjoy frustrating themselves so much trying to get WMP to ‘sync’ their music to their players? You’re letting a piece of software decide what is best for you and what songs it (not you) wants to put onto your player. Why? :angry:

Pick a song file on your computer.

Click on it.

Drag it over to your Fuze’s MUSIC folder in Windows Explorer.

Done.

Lather, rinse & repeat.

It doesn’t get much simpler than that! Do you really need Microsoft to do this for you?