Reply
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 3,233
Registered: ‎09-13-2008

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

I have a V1 Fuze but didn't Rockbox it since with Rockbox typical battery life playing mp3 files is just 15 hours vs 20 hours with the Sandisk firmware. Enjoy your V2 Fuze.
Highlighted
SanDisk Fanatic
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎12-03-2009

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

[ Edited ]
Message Edited by TomJensen on 05-03-2010 06:33 PM
Highlighted
SanDisk User
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-13-2010

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

What is DRM? I have reqd thqt Rockbox unables USB but I do not understand what does it means. If it unable USB how can I charge the battery or put music on Fuze?

If I install RB and then I want to use the OF I need to uninstall RB?

 

May I ask you something? Can you please listen to the same song with same earbuds and same EQ settings (Normal and Jazz ones) on both devices and tell me if you notice any difference?

It is a pity that you never tried RB, I would have liked to have more specific information on how it improves the sound with its EQ settings...

 

Anyway, let me explain something: my main doubt is not RB, because I hope that soon they will release a RB for Fuze V2. (Saratoga?)

My main fear is that I cannot understand why SanDisk made a V2 if there is no improvement over V1. No bug fixed? No SQ improved? No functions qdded or improved? No reliqbility or batterylife or whatever else improved? Why did they bother to change something if nothing changed?

I am scared that they just wanted to make a Fuze with lower production costs. And I am not sure that they were able to do it without losing any of the V1 qualities or even better improving some of them... If theywere, well, theyare very good... A more simple and cheaper hardware, not depending on an external chipset provider (if I understoodwell), without losing any SQ or functions of V1 and possibly improving some things. Cool.

But; is it like that?

I hoped that more people at this point would have tested both versions and were able to talk about diferences.

But till now, nobody said anything about why V1 should be better than V2 other than RB capabilities (which I had no time to study, so I ignore what they add).

And the strangest thing is that nobody can find a single reason why V2 should be better than V1. Well, a guy on ABI said that V2 has got more basses and better battery life (but mine last 15 hours, maybe because it needs to be used for a while).

Now, if RB gives the sound I am looking for, vibrant and warm as Vé Normal EQ setting and at same time open and bright as V2 Jazz EQ setting, and if V2 is not better than V1 on anything and V1 is not worse than V2 on anything, then I have no reasons to wait for a RB for V2. I take V1.

But if I find out that V2 has improved something over V1 and that it has not lost anything over V1, than I keep V2 and I will write a PM to Saratoga each day, asking if RB for Vé is ready or not...

Saratoga, I guess, will give me now some reason to prefer V1, ahahah!

 

Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,321
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!


San_Discolo wrote:
What is DRM?

 

Digital Rights Management 

 

I have reqd thqt Rockbox unables USB but I do not understand what does it means. If it unable USB how can I charge the battery or put music on Fuze?

 

When you plug into your computer, it will automatically boot into the Sansa firmware, allowing music transfer and charging.


 

If I install RB and then I want to use the OF I need to uninstall RB?

 

No.

 

May I ask you something? Can you please listen to the same song with same earbuds and same EQ settings (Normal and Jazz ones) on both devices and tell me if you notice any difference?

 

Ten people could do this, and you'd end up with 10 differnet answers. All that matters is what you hear and prefer. And there's only 1 way to determine that. 

 

Anyway, let me explain something: my main doubt is not RB, because I hope that soon they will release a RB for Fuze V2. (Saratoga?)

 

Someday maybe, but it won't be anytime soon. 

 

My main fear is that I cannot understand why SanDisk made a V2 if there is no improvement over V1. No bug fixed? No SQ improved? No functions qdded or improved? No reliqbility or batterylife or whatever else improved? Why did they bother to change something if nothing changed?

 

The 2 versions function identically. No difference (despite what soome may claim). Different vendors for internal components and/or availability issues was the only reason. Happens more than you'd think with a lot of different products; not just Sansa mp3 players.

 

But if I find out that V2 has improved something over V1 and that it has not lost anything over V1, than I keep V2 and I will write a PM to Saratoga each day, asking if RB for Vé is ready or not...

 

I'll bet he'll just love that.

 


Quit obsessing over stuff that doesn't matter and just enjoy the player you got. :smileyhappy:

Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 4,898
Registered: ‎11-17-2008

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!


Tapeworm wrote:

San_Discolo wrote:
What is DRM?

 

Digital Rights Management 

 

I have reqd thqt Rockbox unables USB but I do not understand what does it means. If it unable USB how can I charge the battery or put music on Fuze?

 

When you plug into your computer, it will automatically boot into the Sansa firmware, allowing music transfer and charging.


 

If I install RB and then I want to use the OF I need to uninstall RB?

 

No.

 

May I ask you something? Can you please listen to the same song with same earbuds and same EQ settings (Normal and Jazz ones) on both devices and tell me if you notice any difference?

 

Ten people could do this, and you'd end up with 10 differnet answers. All that matters is what you hear and prefer. And there's only 1 way to determine that. 

 

Anyway, let me explain something: my main doubt is not RB, because I hope that soon they will release a RB for Fuze V2. (Saratoga?)

 

Someday maybe, but it won't be anytime soon. 

 

My main fear is that I cannot understand why SanDisk made a V2 if there is no improvement over V1. No bug fixed? No SQ improved? No functions qdded or improved? No reliqbility or batterylife or whatever else improved? Why did they bother to change something if nothing changed?

 

The 2 versions function identically. No difference (despite what soome may claim). Different vendors for internal components and/or availability issues was the only reason. Happens more than you'd think with a lot of different products; not just Sansa mp3 players.

 

But if I find out that V2 has improved something over V1 and that it has not lost anything over V1, than I keep V2 and I will write a PM to Saratoga each day, asking if RB for Vé is ready or not...

 

I'll bet he'll just love that.

 


Quit obsessing over stuff that doesn't matter and just enjoy the player you got. :smileyhappy:


+1...for the sake of all our sanity.Smiley Surprised

iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB.
Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia Lumia 520

Highlighted
SanDisk Professor
Posts: 431
Registered: ‎09-28-2008

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

I compared the SQ of a V1 and a Clip+, which AFAIK has the same exact SoC as the V2, and the Clip+ has more Bass and is slighty more pushed together and warmer, the V1 is more precise and spread-out. I prefer the V1's SQ, many prefer the V2's. Enjoy!
Highlighted
SanDisk User
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎12-16-2009

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

Sorry. but in my experience the Clip+ does not sound the same as the V2. It may just be the weaker headphone output, but even with matching voume the Clip+ did not sound as three-dimensional as the Fuze, and there was a noticeable bump in the midrange to boost vocals.

 

The v2 is not a downgrade. It's a different use of hardware to accomplish the same thing. That means a lot to Rockbox, but little or nothing to what is coming out of your headphones. 

 

And please don't pester Saratoga. The more time he spends reading your messages, the less time he has to work on the v2 version of Rockbox.   Unless, of course, he gets so annoyed he decides to work instead on Rockbox for one of the many, many other devices out there instead. 

Highlighted
SanDisk Senior User
Posts: 163
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

I don't think Saratoga has a V2 Fuze or is working on porting Rockbox to it. I might be wrong though.

 

As far as a Fuze V2 port of Rockbox being ready, just keep an eye on www.rockbox.org (the main page) or the 'new port' forums there.

Highlighted
SanDisk User
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-13-2010

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

[ Edited ]

Ahahah, no no, don't worry, I will not bother Saratoga...

But if I win lottery, I promise I will buy a V2 for him.

 

I understood all what you guys told me. I know I am a bit obsessive, it is in my nature to be extremely detail-lover and if I get a very good device but I know that for same price I could have get a "better one" (better for my tastes and needs) I tend to forget that what I got is good enough.

It is a psicological mechanism.

For example, if you want to buy something which costs 60 bucks just near your house or 30 bucks at twenty blocks from your house, you would surely walk those twenty blocks, isn't it?

But if it costed 1000 bucks near your house and 1030 at twenty blocks?

They are the same 30 bucks less... But they do not look the same anymore, isn't it?

 

By the way, I was able to try a Ipod nano. Second or third generation; no idea, it is the squared one; I like its sound more than Fuze V2 because it is bright and open but not cold, even if not so warm either. It is a well balanced sound. Anyway, I must tell that the difference is on not in "quality"; I mean, Fuze does not sound bad AT ALL. It is just a matter of EQ settings, I mean that if only Fuze had a better EQ, or RB support, it could easily match Ipod sound.

But the price quality of Fuze seems to be just great...

Also, it has got microsd slot!

Anyway Ipod has got one thing which I hope Sandisk will improve in next firmare as I think it is so simple and obvious which may surely be achived with a firmware upgrade: when you browse by artist in Ipod, you can see all the albums of this artists more a "all songs" options. You can enter there and see all the songs and pick one. In fuze there is not this possibility. You can enter on an allbum and see the songs on that album, but there is no "all songs" option; just a "play all" option which directly play all; you can' pick the song you want. So, if you have many albums of an artist and you lok for a song and don't remember which album it belongs to, well...


Thanks for the patience guys... and thanks a lot for the help!!!!!

Smiley Happy 

 

I have decided that if I canI will take the V1... and I'll let you know...

Just one thing more: that guy on ABI said that he had two V1, one was older type and was clipping. How can I know which kind of V1 I am getting?

Consider that I will be able to turn device on and look for firmware etc...

Message Edited by San_Discolo on 01-31-2010 12:52 PM
Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎09-06-2008

Re: Hey guys! Possibly I can change V2 for V1! The power of forums is needed once more!

[ Edited ]

I'm surprised you like the Nano sound better. I turned to Sansa after I tried both a Nano and a Sansa E200.  I compared them thoroughly and thought the Sansa had by far better sound. That was a few generations back for the Nano, though.  Possibly they've improved it, or possibly they've found a sound signature that happens to appeal to you and/or your particular headphones.

 

Meanwhile,  you're right--the Nano still doesn't have a microSD slot (or FM radio or voice recorder or sensible price).

[Edit--oops, I'm a generation behind....]

Message Edited by Black-Rectangle on 01-31-2010 02:52 PM