SanDisk User

Re: really disappointed

[ Edited ]
Sorry, for the misunderstanding. Eliasf, I'll try your software, thank you. And I very much agree with your rant... but for the fact that I wouldn't call it a rant! Your screws/nails metaphor is most appropriate.
Message Edited by Sinocelt on 12-10-2008 08:14 AM
SanDisk Professor

Winamp is what really woke me up to the potential of tags.  When I started looking into the Smart View functionality and realized I could create SQL-like queries on the Media Libray, it was definitely an aha! moment.  Between smart views for dynamic organization and playlists for static origanization, the physical organization on disk became irrelevent to it's logical presentation.  Which, as a developer, I of course found very appealing. Smiley Happy

So now my library is stricly organized in <Albumartist>\<Album> folders and I use Winamp's smart views and playlists for most of my playback.  I also use Winamp's playlist based syncing to manage the content on the Fuze.

That said, the Fuze still has a few gaps in it's tag support that are fairly annoying.  Not having Albumartist support makes dealing with compilations, tributes and classical albums difficult.

SanDisk Senior User

Thanks guys (gals?)...I think this is resolving itself peacefully, which makes it a happy ending.  I hope.

But let me admit one thing I overlooked:  I (naively) assumed that the typical procedure is to manage the library on a computer, and then copy over songs to the player as needed.  (This came up recently in another thread in terms of running MP3Tag...run it on your library, or run it on your player?)  Anyway, I'm sure my bias showed through on that issue:  I do all the housecleaning on my PC.  It frankly didn't occur to me that someone would archive their songs on disks and then maintain the library as it were on the player.  That DOES make the distinction between folders and playlists a little more complex.