Windows Vista Desktop Not Seeing Sansa Clip 4 Gig

I’m a newbie here, but as a guest, I read some of the posts about computers not recognizing the Sansa Clip. So now I’m a registered member because I’d like to add my 2 cents worth.

I encountered the same problem after plugging my Sansa Clip 4 Gig into a USB port on my computer( I’m using Windows Vista Home Premium). Doesn’t see it, even though I’ve used the player; downloading files, listening and so on for several months. I tried other USB ports without any success, then gave my Sansa Clip the eyeball and was about ready to consign the ■■■■■■ to the junkpile…A sentiment that is shared by several others on this message board. But before doing that, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to take a closer look at my computer.

And this is what I found(Without the Sansa Clip plugged into the computer). Looked in the Control Panel and located the Device Manager. Once in the DM, I clicked on Portable Devices, which opened another device icon labelled USB CF Reader that has an exlcamation point flagged in yellow. When I double clicked on that icon, it opened a properties window with this information,

“Windows cannot start this hardware device because its configuration information (in the registry) is incomplete or damaged. (Code 19)”

“Click ‘Check for solutions’ to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available.”

I clicked the ‘Check for solutions’ button and another window opened up telling me Windows was checking for a solution to the problem. Then it appeared Windows was doing the check for a few seconds, closed the little window without any feedback, and that was it…Zippo! Nada!

I went online and did a search on the USB CF Reader (Code 19). Couldn’t find any solutions to the problem. Nothing at the Microsft Support website either.

I get the feeling the driver is the culprit here, but I’m not sure where to take it from here.