Not satisfied with the sound quality.

Hi guys,

I recently purchased a Sandisk Sansa Clip+ along with a Sennheiser CX-400 II Precision, as an effort to finally get a music player among the “quality” category.

I got the chance to try it out today, both with the songs that came with it and the ones I downloaded, and the result was very disappointing. The sound quality is mediocre in mid to high volumes, however it becomes distorted when the volume is set to very high levels(which I prefer).

To be more clear, the music I listen in my lap-top with the sennheiser earphones is very, very clear and enjoyable, while in Sansa Clip+ it just doesn’t feel right, like a lot of tones are fighting each other instead of letting you enjoy them separately.

Now I’m a total newbie when it comes to equalizer settings, so I let it stay on normal, though I have tried every single custom setting I found on these forums with no luck. I also haven’t tried the rockbox thingy.

I mostly listen to progressive rock and metal, is there anything you can recommend to improve the sound quality and purity? An EQ setting? A rockbox guide? A firmware? Any suggestion at all?

Thank you.

Its weird that you hear distortion. I didn’t think the sandisk firmware even let you set the volume high enough to do that. Were you using EQ when this happened?

Just a regular music listener here, but I’ve always found the quality to be fine.  Could your player have an ssue?  You also could try manually reapplying the latest firmware to the player (see the firmware upgrade sticky thread at the top of the forum) in case it’s due to a software glitch. 

Well, after doing a day long burn-in for my cx 400 II, the sound just got incredibly better. It is much more clear and very enjoyable, I’m also getting separate and beautiful bass.

Guess it was a Sennheiser issue after all, but thank you for the replies guys!