Reply
Highlighted
SanDisk Senior User
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

Since you didn't create the files yourself, the possibility of a type/extension mismatch is even greater. The reason it shows up on the computer is that most media player programs check the file contents to figure out its actual type. The Clip (like most mp3 players) only relies on the extension.

 

Try using the program mentioned above by feromon; it'll tell you exactly what kind of files you have. If that gives you any trouble, just upload one of the files somewhere for us to have a look.

----
Auto-generate folder playlists for the Clip: AutoM3U v1.1
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

Thanks, I will try it.
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

I converted the files to Mp3 and now that seems to work.  But, so far, other WMA and WAC files do not.  I have confirmed that they are WMA files.
Highlighted
SanDisk Senior User
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎01-28-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

Any chance these WMA files are DRM-protected files?  The first time you try to rip a CD in Windows Media Player it is set to "copy protect music" in WMA format.  I'd suggest unchecking this option in Tools --> Options --> Rip Music tab --> in the Rip settings box.

 

Did you download or rip these problem WMA tracks?  If you downloaded them are the copy protected?  If they are copy protected you might get them to work on the Clip by doing a Sync with Windows Media Player or WinAmp or MediaMonkey or ...

 

Good luck.

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

Thanks.  I will try that
Highlighted
SanDisk Senior User
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎01-28-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

If it doesn't work then make sure you're transferring the problem tracks in MTP mode.  MTP mode is necessary for DRM-protected WMA files to sync properly.  They need to be synced and not just drag & dropped for the licenses to properly move to the Clip.
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-12-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

I've got the same problem, my MP3s work, but my 192kbps WMA files do not.  After spending some time trying to figure this out I determined that setting the maximum quality level (in Options -> Devices -> Properties) to 160kbps allowed the WMA to play on the Sansa Clip.  Even though all the documentation I've read says 192kbps is supported, it seems, only up to 160kbps is supported.

 

Device:     Sansa Clip 1Gb

Firmware:  1.01.30

S/N:         BB0801AKOK   ????? (I assume this is the serial number)

 

I don't know how old the hardware is because I bought this one as a refurb.

Highlighted
SanDisk Guru
Posts: 4,898
Registered: ‎11-17-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not


@HotCookCpl wrote:

I've got the same problem, my MP3s work, but my 192kbps WMA files do not.  After spending some time trying to figure this out I determined that setting the maximum quality level (in Options -> Devices -> Properties) to 160kbps allowed the WMA to play on the Sansa Clip.  Even though all the documentation I've read says 192kbps is supported, it seems, only up to 160kbps is supported.

 

Device:     Sansa Clip 1Gb

Firmware:  1.01.30

S/N:         BB0801AKOK   ????? (I assume this is the serial number)

 

I don't know how old the hardware is because I bought this one as a refurb.


I have one CD ripped with WMA VBR  where the lowest bitrate for any song is 193kbps, and the highest is 207, and it plays fine. That's the same firmware as me too , only my Clip is a 2gb.....I wonder why it wouldn't work for you?

iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB.
Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia Lumia 520

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-12-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

I'm not sure why the 192kbps WMAs won't work, but they don't.  I'm fine loading at 160kbps, it's just that now I have to remember to change the bit rate before I sync.  Thanks.
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-12-2008

Re: Mp3 files work WMA do not

Anyone have any more hints or ideas on this?  Thanks.