Creating Playlists

Hello folks.  I’m new to the Sansa line of products.  I read through the user manual, and it appears that in order to make playlists I have to use Windows Media Player.  It tells me to synch the device to the computer, make the playlist, and then synch the play list back to the device.

The problem is that when I do the initial synch, it adds EVERYTHING to my device, and I do not want that.

I simply want to take files already on the device, make a playlist, and have it show up in the play list menu.  I  know there is this thing called a Go List, but I need more than one play list.

Is there ANY other way at all possible other than WMP to make these playlists?  Or is there some way to get WMP to stop adding my entire library to the device?  I dislike WMP to begin with, and try to avoid having to use it at all costs.

Thanks in advance for any help.

set your clip to usb msc mode so you can drag and drop files…in this mode it acts like another drive. google m3u maker, its free, copy the program to the clip and make the playlists when the clip is xconnected to the computer by running this little program. i find it works well.

There are numerous alternatives to WMP as it relates to playlist creation and managing. Several suggestions, procedures, and programs are posted here on the forum; use the Search function to ferret them out. :smiley:

Thank you for your help. I will try this :slight_smile:

I found the m3u maker program you recommended, and set the clip to msc mode.  I can’t find a how-to or user guide for the program though, and it is not acknowledging the files that are already on the clip. 

@daft_chic wrote:

Just curious, but if I make a playlist in, say, Winamp, it gets an .m3u extension.  If I drag and drop that file into my Playlists folder, would it work just as well?

As long as you ‘instruct’ Winamp to see your library as the files located on the player itself, and not from your computer.