Can't play split MP3s

I’m totally new to all this. Have new 8GB Sansa Clip+ that I use primarily for radio podcasts and it works fine for this purpose.

However I also have a bunch of MP3s that just won’t play. All used to play on my (now defunct) Sony Walkman.  Still play OK on my PC and Android tablet.

These MP3s were originally derived by making a file from a vinyl LP and then using Direct WAV MP3 Splitter to separate out individual tracks.  The complete file of the LP plays OK on the Sansa, but the MP3s of the tracks won’t play.  I see them listed but when I attempt to play them they just skip.  Tried stripping out all tags on a test file using MP3Tag but no joy.  Updated firmware just in case.

Answer probably obvious to those in the know but it’s not to me.

Alex

Just to be sure:  are the files in a format that the Clip supports?  And not DRM-protected?

Thanks for responding.  The test file I’m playing about with is 128kbs ID3v2.3.  As far as I can tell there are no other tags that should stop it playing including DRM.

The origin of the file is an LP vinyl played on my my ancient Technics deck with the analog output routed (phono) through a MUZBOX converter, Then subsequently the whole MP3 of the LP was split into individual tracks using Direct WAV MP3 Splitter.  Can’t see how DRM could be introduced in this process.

I’ve also tried reformatting the Clip, more in desperation than expectation. Still no joy! At least my test file keeps me amused - Bob Newhart’s The Nudist Camp.

Skipping past the files indicates the Clip doesn’t think they are in a readable format.

Get mp3tag and see if it will just fix the mp3s.  Just do one as an experiment. 

http://www.mp3tag.de/en/

Let it add itself to context menus while installing. Set its Write defaults to ID3v2.3 ISO-8859-1.