SanDisk Ultra II - Write Errors

I recently purchased 2 240gb Ultra II’s.  My intention is to use them for image cloning of my C drives.

I use an

Apricorn EZ-Upgrade SATA Notebook Hard Drive Upgrade Kit with USB 3.0 Connection and Enclosure EZ-UP3

Link to device google the above and check it on Amazon

I’ve been using this device for about three years now, once a week to make system backups.

After I clone a drive, I boot from it to verify that it was cloned correctly.

I used this device to try and clone to both Ultra II’s and during the cloning process I received over 20,000 write errors.

Since I had that many erors there was no point in continuing the clone so I aborted the operation.

When I go into Win 8.1 Disk Management, the drive is marked as offline and I cannot reformat the drive.

Both drives exhibit the same problem.

I contacted Sandisk for an RMA for both drives 3 or 4 days ago and their response so far has been for me

to run their Sandisk SSD Dashboard.  The dashboard shows the drives as good with no errors.  I’ve sent the

results to Sandisk and have done some further testing.

It seems that if the SSD’s are in an external enclosure connected to either a USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port

the cloning process gets thousands of write errors.  If I put the same SSD into a removable drive bay that

connects directly to the motherboard I can clone the drive with Acronis True Image Home.

The SSD’s should be able tobe used in external enclosures to perform a cloning process.

I use the same exact system and enclosure to clone to OCZ, Crucial, Kingston, Intel, and Samsung

SSD’s with absolutely no write errors.

Has anyone experienced this type of behavior when cloning using the above device.

I have spent several hours working on this issue and I am about to return the SSD’s to the vendor

I bought them from and buy 2 Samsung SSD’s

Thioughts and suggestion please.