Micro SD XC Issues - Can't Read Video Files

Please forgive me for being a noob here on this forum. I did a search and couldn’t find any info on my issue, so I’m posting here now… :smiley:

I’m having trouble writing video files (MKV, MP4, etc.) to the external micro SD XC card that I’m using with my SanDisk media drive. The first few files that I write onto the SD card transfer and play fine on the media drive and my PC (I’m using VLC). After about 10GB or so of data has been transferred to the card, the files copy over, but they won’t play. VLC tells me that it does not support the video format “undf”.

I’m using a SanDisk 64GB micro SD XC card spec’ed to 30MB/s (formatted as exFAT). I have two of these cards and they both behave the same. I’ve also tried 128GB HC (formatted NTFS) cards to the same result. Nothing seems to work as expected. What am I doing wrong or missing here? I’ve been battling this issue for weeks and its driving me nuts!!!

1 Like

if the same videos are copied to the internal memory do they play?

when you have videos on the card past the 10GB mark that will not play on the WMD app can they be played from the card using the computer? 

@drlucky wrote:

if the same videos are copied to the internal memory do they play?

when you have videos on the card past the 10GB mark that will not play on the WMD app can they be played from the card using the computer? 

Yeah, if copied to the internal memory from the original source drive they play fine. If copied from the SD card to the internal memory, they do not.

Files past the 10GB point don’t play from the card on the computer. 

I know that the source files located on the computer are good. They are not corrupt before being copied to the SD card. 

are you sure the cards you have are authentic? corrupting files past a certain capacity is a common issue with fake cards. 

Both cards came in what looks like authentice packaging. Is there a way to tell if they’re real SanDisk cards or not?