Accepted Solution

Capacity Issues With My New Cruzer Contour 16GB Flash/Pen Drive

Hi, Nice to meet you all

All though I am a newbie on here I previously owned a SanDisk Cruzer Micro 8GB since last October 2007 because of learning web design at a college but unfortunately lost it two weeks ago this year 2008 so £51 down the drain oops! but luckily I had backed up my files and images and also it was password protected but if they are good hackers I have no private information on it anyway thank god.

On a high note I received my new SanDisk Cruzer Contour 16GB Flash/Pen drive this morning which cost £42.00 so a year makes allot of difference in prices! any how I plugged my New Cruzer Contour 16GB Flash/Pen Drive into my computer for the first time, it managed to install the U3 software onto my computer without any hassle and then I formatted it to NTFS as the FAT format seems quite bulky in a way because of taking up more drive space when downloading or moving stuff onto the Flash/Pen drive (am I right?).

When I clicked on the cruzer icon it says on the U3 software that I only have 14.8GB left is this the correct amount I should have left because of the U3 software being preinstalled on there? also when I clicked on the cruzer icon, clicked on Settings, clicked on U3 Launchpad Settings and then clicked on Capacity it says in total I have 15.3GB but surely I should have 16GB in total? you will laugh as I also went into My Computer then right clicked on the Flash/Pen drive icon then selected Properties and on the Capacity section it says in total I have 14.9GB what is going on here? as I am totally confused! at the end of the day I do not want to lose out on a GB or two as after all I pay for it!;-)

Many Thanks for reading this and maybe replying to it, very much appreciated.

Hope to speak to you guys and gals soon.

Regards, Oliver

Message Edited by SanDiskMadness on 12-04-2008 05:05 PM

Re: Capacity Issues With My New Cruzer Contour 16GB Flash/Pen Drive