Clip Zip and Rockbox

I am new to Sansa player, having only previously used ipods. I have a bunch of music with characters in the title that the CZ will not accept, for example, French and Irish accents, Chinese and Japanese characters etc. Why Sansa would put out a player that does not have a way of downloading such songs is beyond me, but I digress. I have 3 questions:

(1) Does Rockbox alleviate the import problem re these songs?

(2) Is it ready for prime time for the CZ, or is it still in development? (I should add that I am computer pretty much computer illiterate and am looking for something that does not require tinkering.

(3) If RB is not yet fully functional, is there another application out there that will do the trick?

BTW, I should add that I am using an old PPC Mac.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

@divingduck wrote:

(2) Is it ready for prime time for the CZ, or is it still in development? (I should add that I am computer pretty much computer illiterate and am looking for something that does not require tinkering.

Then you’re probably not a good candidate for Rockbox.

(3) If RB is not yet fully functional, is there another application out there that will do the trick?

No, Rockbox is the only alternative firmware out there.

@tapeworm wrote:

@divingduck wrote:

Then you’re probably not a good candidate for Rockbox.

No, Rockbox is the only alternative firmware out there.

Agreed. :smiley:

@divingduck wrote:

I am new to Sansa player, having only previously used ipods. I have a bunch of music with characters in the title that the CZ will not accept, for example, French and Irish accents, Chinese and Japanese characters etc.

All the Clips have worked fine with non-English characters, I doubt the Zip is any different. Are you sure the tags are actually correct unicode? If not, they’ll probably fail on some devices.