Reply
Newbie
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-10-2010

Annoying Rhapsody Problem

Well, I've had the Fuze+ since Christmas,  it worked fine for about a month or so, then got the "DRM license is not available" message. Long story short, I got the new firmware, and am hoping that it works this time. Anyway, now that the Fuze is working fine, I've got another problem. Whenever I go into Rhapsody and try to put a track onto the Fuze, it will say "Transferring 1 of 1 tracks to Fuze+ Approximately 25 secs remaining". So I'll wait 25 seconds, then a minute, and still nothing happens. It once took over 3 minutes to put a 42 second song on the Fuze. I've tried right clicking on the track and then clicking download track, but that can take as long as 3 minutes, and I really don't have that much time for 1 track. Please help, I'd really like to find a faster way to put songs on the Fuze.

SanDisk Professor
Posts: 473
Registered: ‎07-28-2010

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

Try rebuilding the database of Rhapsody. Hold down CTRL+shift and click on tools then select "Back up and rebuild database". If that doesnt wokr, format the Sansa.

Newbie
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-10-2010

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

Well, when I go into Rhapsody and click on tools while holding down ctrl and shift, I don't get the option to 'Back up and rebuild database"

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 5,822
Registered: ‎12-26-2007

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

[ Edited ]

The tool he's referring to is available under a different heading with the latest Rhapsody 4 client.

 

The tool is "Backup and Reset Application Data Directory".  The new Fuze+ is atomic fast with the latest Rhapsody client build.  Somebody got things right this time around.  My song transfers are in seconds, and that was benchmarked with a 4G wireless connection throttled to 1.5Mb/s. 

 

Click on Help > Check For Updates and update your Rhapsody client first.  They have changed a lot in the latest build, much more stable.  If you are still having s-l-o-w transfers (watch the device to see when reading / writing stops- the status bar in blue at the bottom of the screen sucks, and always has.  It lags horribly, especially if it has pending messages.  Oh well, they can have one glitch, I guess.

 

If the Fuze+ remains a toad when loading, it's best to format the device (you can do this from Rhapsody, but I prefer using the device itself: Settings > Format > Yes.  This will erase all media from the device, and you will have to reload your music.

Then, connect your Fuze+, open Rhapsody, authorize the device, and reload a few tracks to see how quick she goes!

 

Bob  Smiley Tongue

Newbie
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-10-2010

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

Thanks, I've found it. Now, if I click it, that means that all of the Rhapsody tracks in the library will be gone, right? The library has over 8,000 songs in it (A lot of which are probably unneccesary) and i'm guessing it'll take a while to get all of them back. Also, there's 2 other Sansas besides mine that use Rhapsody too. So if the library gets wiped out, would that cause problems for them too? Sorry if these are stupid questions, I'm just a little leary of completely messing something up.

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 5,822
Registered: ‎12-26-2007

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

[ Edited ]

The Rhapsody tools are pretty powerful.  What I would do is isolate the problem first, whether the device may have an issue with the client.

 

It's been a few years since I have had to rebuild everything from scratch for the Rhapsody client.  In those days, it was the DRM cache that was giving me issues, and not the library.  I have three daughters, so you can guess what size the library on one account looks like.

 

FIRST keep things simple.  Check for a client Update, and install that if one is available.  This will retain your existing library, but the update itself is going to do much more for you in terms of speed and simplicity.

 

Be right back...coffee brewing time.  Don't use the tool just yet.  Rhapsody has updated the user tools by integrating them into the client rather than hiding them in the Rhapsody folder on the PC.  Normally, these tools should be used under direction from Rhapsody Support; the Tier 2 support staff are available during the week for more involved issues.

 

Try updating, then your next step is to clean the Fuze+ and reload.  Again, take it one step at a time.  I have even seen Rhapsody chug along slowly, only to have it literally fly when transferring, a few hours later.  The servers can get backed up occasionally.

 

Oh, almost forgot.  By your post title, I thought you were going to mention the quirky "Christmas music in July" issue.  Occasionally, in the Channels, they pick seasonal (Christmas) works by favorite artists.  When you hear one out of season, it's pretty funny.

 

Bob  Smiley Very Happy

SanDisk Fanatic
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎06-20-2008

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem


@neutron_bob wrote:

The new Fuze+ is atomic fast with the latest Rhapsody client build.  Somebody got things right this time around.  My song transfers are in seconds, and that was benchmarked with a 4G wireless connection throttled to 1.5Mb/s. 

 

You are right about that Neutron_bob.

 

Currently I am overcoming the slow UI issue by loading everything on my SD card (still have about 5GB free).  This leaves a lot of space that is currently being unused.  If I donwload an album from Rhapsody to internal memory, then the UI slugishness returns...BUT...If I download channels, since they are not included in the database, I still get sharp UI.

 

I currently have 12 channels on my Fuze+ memory and I would have NEVER tried 12 channels using the original Fuze.  I'd still be updating this morning. 

 

Quite frankly, that is the only thing that is making me keep this thing.  Just when I get ready to say screw it, this bad boy will be my secondary player, I fire up Rhapsody and BING!!!  Much is forgiven.

 

Fix the sluggish UI and long boot cycle and I'd have no complaints.


 

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 5,822
Registered: ‎12-26-2007

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

Remember the Rhapsody e200 Sansa as set up when new?  It had a large collection of Channels preloaded.  You have a cool idea there, reserving the internal memory for recordings and channels, and using the external memory for everything else, one could have a very nice assortment of new music to browse.

 

The Channels tracks are managed differently than other music, as a unique playlist that is automatically updated using the Rhapsody client.

 

Bob  Smiley Very Happy

Newbie
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-10-2010

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

Well, first off, I'm positive I have the latest version of Rhapsody. It got installed when I got the Fuze+.

 

Second, it really seems to be a sort of hit and miss problem. Just now I got on and tried putting a few tracks on the Fuze. At first it was doing okay, though no matter what, it always says "27 Secs remaining". It started off taking about a minute, but after only 6 tracks, the last one took almost 2 minutes. And they are all average length songs. So it's pretty much wipe out the library or wipe out the Fuze, right?

 

Oh, and just one last thing I thought I'd throw out there. Before, when the Sansa would get hung up, I'd try restarting the computer, and that usually worked for a little while, but now that doesn't seem to work either.

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 5,822
Registered: ‎12-26-2007

Re: Annoying Rhapsody Problem

There is an option in the Rhapsody client to load files as streams, or to cache a copy on the hard drive for transfer later, this option takes up some drive space but allows you to transfer an entire album or list for quick loading later.

 

As you've seen, it's hard to rely on that crawling status bar at the bottom.  It's been a Rhapsody quirk for several years, so have a look at your Fuze+ to see if writing has been completed.  If you have to grab the device and run, click on the disconnect button in the upper right.

 

I wouldn't redo the library, if yours is like mine, it's big.  I did rebuild it a few times over the years, including importing the library after updating Rhapsody, and it went without incident.  I would, at the most, simply reload the Fuze+.  You'll see that some tracks seem to load slower than others, I think this is on the server side, and not your device. 

 

If you look under preferences, you can try downloading a track that was slow, to the computer, without the device plugged in- this way you can get a feel for the speed differences.

 

Bob  Smiley Tongue