Reply
SanDisk Senior User
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎10-24-2013

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

Constant resets, and yes no imprvement in performance, might actually a drag esp considering the never ending defrag

Beyond the lack of performance i think its beating itself to death.   SSDs have finite lifespans, usually expect a few gb in writes a day as normal usage for their life estimates...and thats on real ssds with good controllers, this is more a high end flash thumb drive.  So flush just 3 times a day and thats 100gb.  Its just not going to last...while doing nothing either  

It also keeps other drives running.

I'm at my wits end on this

SanDisk User
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎12-08-2013

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

Hi all,

 

I politely ask slotmonsta, gls, drlucky and other SanDisk employees to urgently help and comment here.

You can also PM them and ask that they reply in this forum. Procrastination prevents progress.

 

Flavio

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-12-2014

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

This morning (system on overnight) ExpressCach had an error that the drive was not available. I restarted the GUI without rebooting, and ExpressCache came right up. The error is not something that I have ever seen before.

 

This past week, my system has been hanging with frustrating frequency. I'm not ready to blame ExpressCach, but neither am I ready to rule it out.

Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

had significantly fewer errors with this release, and though it might be something i've done i have noticed the cache fills with a lot more data as well as a lot faster after a reset.

 

seems overall better than the last version.

SanDisk User
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-08-2013

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

[ Edited ]

After instalation, most problems of 1.3.1 remained on my SB850 board (I've tested this system >12h prime stable multiple times). The delayed boot with cache >20GB, and a tendency for a system crash on boot when cache is about - 28GB filled (stuck loading windows with hdd led on, both on w7 sp1 or w8.1 x64), or even stuck when idle after some hours (probably when ready cache is doing some maintenance). Excluding drives doesn't make a difference for this behaviour, but disconnecting the SSD to make Readycache stop working restores system stability.

 

Right after setting cache to only 16GB (and also excluding 2 hdd I don't want cached), I haven't had any problems when cache is nearly filled , either the usual freezed boot delay or system crashes for the last two weeks.

 

Couldn't this be some Sandforce firmware issue that causes trouble with an almost full drive with some SATA controllers, and Readycache simply triggers it?

 

I don't seem to have "cache has been reset" problems. When it happens it's usually due an understandable reason that triggers it (a manual or scheduled disk defrag to cached drives, updates on boot, large file changes, etc.).

 

Also to look in too, if not solved already, when I installed 1.3.0 on this pc that had 4 hdds with 7 visible partitions Readycache wouldn't work. Cache would always stay at 0.07GB. After reducing the number of partitions (by merging on the same drives) to 4, it started caching normally.

Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-10-2014

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

1.3.2 resulted in 3 blue screens of death in one week.  Prior to installing  1.3.2/1.3.110, I had disabled caching, and my Windows 7 system was rock solid, if a little slow.  Since installing 1.3.2, the same instability which caused me to disable it previously has reemerged.

SanDisk User
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-08-2013

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

[ Edited ]

mattschnaidt, maybe you could try as I did. Since reducing cache to only 16GB stability problems seem to have disappeared.

To make it so, I've run diskpart on cmd admin:

diskpart (opens diskpart)

list disk (list drives on system, take note of #)

select disk # (to select the sandisk SSD listed with 29GB)

clean (clears partitioning, make sure you have the correct #, else you'll lose some other drive's data)

exit (exits diskpart)

eccmd -partition # 16384 (creates a 16GB cache partition for use)

eccmd -format (makes that partition ready for readycache use)

 

After that, launch Readycache, skip the error message, and size changes should work immediately. A reboot should be advisable anyway.

 

To revert to a full drive in use, just repeat the procedure but instead do "eccmd -partition #" without specifing any size. No need to reinstall software.

 

To make sure this is a readycache related bsod, you could run bluescreen view and analyse the dump to check the BSOD code and most important files on use at that moment.

SanDisk User
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-12-2014

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

AlleyViper, I'm noticing the boot delay and what my feeble memory says are cache operation slowdown as I approach 28Gb.   I'd like to try reducing my cache partition size as you show above, but I want to make sure I get the syntax right as I've gotten used to GUI partitioning utilities.

 

For comparison, here is a method slotmonsta posted in the "ReadyCache ssd hangs on startup" thread to make an 8k partition:

1) From the command line: ECCmd -format (this will clear the information out of the cache) 
2) Delete the partition (this is done from the Disk Management pain by right clicking on the drive and selecting "delete" the partition 
3) From the command line: ECCmd -partition (drive number) 8192 (this will create a partition of 8GB in size) 
4) From the command line: ECCmd -format (this will format the new partition and make it ready for EC/RC to utilize)

 

So:   eccmd -partition requires a drive number, but eccmd -format does not?

 

Thnaks for helping someone who started with 8" floppys but hasn't used the command line in years and doesn't want to partition or format their hard drive!.

 

SanDisk User
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-08-2013

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Doing slotmonsta's procedure should end up the same (except for exact cache size). I just find it more practical to use diskpart as it will list the correct drive number to use next with eccmd, that is also CMD based. It's just a matter of doing less clicks, but I also skip the first format instruction because the partition will be deleted anyway. Just do what you're more confortable with!

 

eccmd -partition command can be used with an optional drive ID, which I find safer to specify (as slotmonsta first instructed), but eccmd -format doesn't allow other commands/switches, so I assume it'll only work when it finds a valid partion on a valid sandisk sdd. If you just run eccmd these available commands are described (except for unsuported but working: -exclude Driveletter; -clearexclusions; -preload Filename [usagecount]).

 

Btw, I chose to use 16GB (after having good results with only 8GB, that is a bit short for caching, for a few days) because most problems on my system seem to start when there's about >20GB filled cache. Either a delayed boot, or some random hard crash when cache is nearly filled.

SanDisk User
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-12-2014

Re: How is ExpressCache 1.3.2 working?

Thanks very much AlleyViper!   Your explanations give me the confidence to give this a try.

 

Unexpectedly, when I examind my original cache partition it showed the starting offseet as 2048.   I'd always heard to start at 4096 (or multiples) to get a 4k alignment  ?? 

 

I was researching SSD partitioning and ran into the following: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/292105-32-best-format-partition-performance-wear-leveling#6100306 .  One thing they say is that trying to use more than 80% of the allocated space on an SSD will result in performance issues.   Well, 0.8 x 29 GB = 23.2 GB -- that number looks familiar!     Maybe these full cache slowdowns are just symptoms of a normal ssd issue of needing at least 20% slack space, and reducing the cache partition size is the actual fix and not just a work-around..