Windows Media Player don't like me no mo!

Newbie here. Haven’t had any problems up to now. But… all of a sudden Windows Media Player … and my computer in general don’t show that my Fuze is hooked up to the computer when it is (open up Explore and no your Sansa Fuse or portable media device … nada, nothing! Can anyone help me with this?

Go to Settings/System Settings/USB Mode and try both of the available modes, MTP (best with Windows Media Player) and MSC (the generic USB connection).

Your Windows Media Player version has to be 10 or higher. A factory Windows XP installation has WMP 9, not high enough.

And it could be the cord. Can you borrow one? Replacements are cheap on eBay, Amazon, etc. It has to be a Sansa Fuze (or Sansa E200) cord, not an iPod cord, which will fry the Fuze.

What happens, exactly when you try to connect? Do you recieve any errors? Does your computer make that “hey, you just inserted something” sound? Does the device show up in your device manager? You should try borrowing another computer (With WMP 10 or higher installed), and see if your Fuze connects to that okay.

If so, the problem is your computer. In this case, you could see what happens if you try to re-install WMP, and see if that helps.

If, however, your Fuze does not connect to anohter computer, your problem may be your Fuze. Try putting the device in MSC mode, and re-install the Firmware. That might Help.