Thumbwheel Life & Needed Firmware Updates

I have been using the 8Gb Fuze for a couple months now and am very concerned that either the thumbwheel or my thumb will be giving out very soon.   I don’t know the MTBF rating on that component, but I doubt it’s up to the task.  I’m starting to rethink my choice of the Fuze based on the UI.  I like the player once playing a song, but getting there is a royal PITA.

I have over 2000 songs on my Fuze and would add more with a memory card except that the firmware currently makes this unacceptable.  Sandisk engineers should be made to realize that UI considerations change when you start offering large storage sizes.  If I had only 200 songs, the Fuze would be okay, but with 2000+, it’s a big pain.  As an example, trying to play a ZZ Top song accessed by artist causes me to turn the wheel 118 revolutions!!!  Trying to play the same song by title is out of the question as it may take 2000+ revolutions.  I’ve considered creating tags for 26 genres (one for each letter) to give me some quicker access, but that seems stupid.

Problems to be solved for the big (8+ Gb) Fuze:

1.  Needs Search Function no matter how simple or limited

2.  Needs wrap around scrolling - even with no search it will cut my thumb turns in half.

3.  Fix the playlist limit bug and allow unlimited songs (Tried getting true shuffle using a randomized playlist but ran into the small number bug.)

4.  Offer a true shuffle instead of what is now just a random function

5.  Fix the nasty scrolling/select lag when accessing by Album… this doesn’t happen in other modes.

In general, assume the user will have 10,000 songs/2000 artists and design the interface accordingly.  Storage is cheap, time scrolling a wheel is not.

I agree, I’ve thought about adding a larger microSDHC flash, but it would be just too unusable because of the scrolling limitations.