External Drive no free space, or so it says

Hello all,

I have a Sansa Fuse 8GB with an external of an additional 8GB

On the external drive, I have 1 audiobook already loaded.  I have been trying to add my latest acquisition.

When I go into the 'Info" screen under Settings, I am told that there is 7572MB of memory remaining,

yet when I try to add to this external drive, even the smallest file (as a test) I’m told memory is full.

I’m probably needing to reformat the external drive, but I’m unsure if that is indeed what I need to do, or even

how to do it without creating problems if I jump in without advice and do it wrong.

What then happens to the folders, how do I recreate them, etc.  Is there firmware to then reload?

Any help would be greatly appreciated… I’m a real novice at this!

Thank You…

Are you in MSC Mode (under Settings/System Settings)? It should just drag-and-drop. The firmware update switches to Auto-Detect or MTP by default.

You could also run Error-checking on it (right-click on the card in Computer or My Computer, Properties/ Tools/Error-Checking) to see if a bad file is making trouble.

If you do need to format the microSD card, just do it through Windows. (Fuze in MSC mode, find the drive, right-click, Format.) There’s no firmware to reload on the card.

The Fuze’s own internal storage can be formatted under Settings/System Settings, without disturbing the Fuze firmware. 

As you know, formatting will remove everything, so don’t do it before backing up your files. 

Hello again, I have some success to report, and for those who have the same problem, here is what happened: 

Are you in MSC Mode (under Settings/System Settings)? It should just drag-and-drop. The firmware update switches to Auto-Detect or MTP by default.

I have in the past, used MTP for drag and drop.   In that mode, I removed the one audiobook that was on the external drive, so it was “empty”, no files showing, yet “Properties” showed a full card.