… so I clicked “ERASE”, there was no warning or anything after…just wiped the drive. Is it really that easy for anyone to clear off the Cruzer? If someone picks it up while I’m at work, they can just delete everything that easy?
Besides the two warnings that you already got (the one where it says this will erase everything and the Erase button you had to click), how many more did you want?
This is for security, so that should someone get your flash drive, they can only wipe the drive clean and not be able to get your data back. Sure, if someone takes your flash drive and tries to break into it (which is the only reason they would be getting this far anyway), aren’t they doing something you do NOT want them to do, and hope the data is gone?
There are dozens of ways people can wipe your data that is easier than this, and the only reason someone would do this would be because they were being malicious anyway, so I think the way it is is done is well thought out.