Converting DVD with video4fuze newbie

Hello,

I am new at this. My son has a Sansa Fuse and I am trying to help him convert his favorite movie(s) and put it on his Fuse.

He is running Windows XP Media Center Edition with SP3. 

We upgraded his firmware on the Fuze using the Sansa tool.

We are trying to use video4fuze to rip the DVDs. 

Initially we tried to convert VTS_01_0.IFO right off the DVD this cause an error to occur in a text box which I could catch part of while it was flashing past. 

Then we decided to copy all the VTS_01_0.* files to the hard drive and try that. Now the text box progresses farther but the speed at which it closes down is so fast I can’t catch the error before it vanishes. There is standard looking dialog box that pops up that says there was an error with a command and pile of parameters. Once I click ok on that then video4fuze just hangs.

I am not sure if I need to copy all the DVD files to the hard drive or if there something else like starting with the VIDEO_TS.IFO file instead. Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

A request for general information from you seasoned veterans of the video world. It seems like from the posts I have seen that there are many people who could really use a very straight forward how to rip a DVD to Fuze instruction set. Somthing basic like put DVD in, start video4fuze, add the following file(s), select convert!, use XXXX application to upload YYYY files to Fuze. 

Thanks,

Lincoln