connection problems with e250

Hi everyone! I’m completely new to MP3 players, I’ll say that from the start, but I am a member of several forums so I know how this works.  I recently purchased a refurbed e250, and seem to be having some issues. I have been reading the forums for about 2 hours now but still coming up blank, so that’s why I’m posting.

From reading here, and looking at the back of my player, it seems I have a V1. When I connect to the computer, all I get is the pop up for “Autoplay-  Removable Disk(L)”, so I gather my computer isn’t recognizing my player.

Reading the forums I have seen several times to change my player to MSC mode, or MTP mode when connecting, but I do not have these options. When I go to my settings, I have 2 USB modes listed; USB HID, which if I enter that I have the option of YES or NO. Or USB Keypad Mode, which if I enter that, I have the options for Multimedia Mode, Presentation Mode, Browser Mode, or Mouse Mode. I have gone thru all of these, and always get the same pop up on my pc.

I have also read to switch my player to lock(the button next to the headphone jack), and push and hold the rewind button while connecting to the pc to force it into mode, and that does not work either.

I also read to switch to lock, push and hold the record button while connecting to reset the player, and that did not work either.

I will also mention, there is Rockbox installed on my player.

I have downloaded the firmware driver, and that doesn’t fimd my player either.

Granted, my player does work, I am able to listen to music, I can also listen to music loaded on a memory card. I have not been able to view pictures or videos on my player though. If I load a video on my player, it will play the sound, but not the video.

So, after all that typing, anyone have another option I can try to get my pc to find my player? Oh yeah, I have tried different USB ports as well with no luck.

So I leave it to the experts, can someone help me connect?