Basic ?s re ripping of CDs & pricing of MSD cards

1. I’ve had a couple of prior-generation 2gb Clips for a while now, used almost exclusively for audiobooks. Just purchased an 8gb Clip+, intended for the transfer of my music CDs. I’m brand new to ripping, and want (for now, at least) to keep things as simple as possible. I’ve done six or eight so far, using WMP into MP3 at 192kbs. I expect I’ll be back looking for various kinds of help, but for now I’m asking if there are any fatal flaws in these ripping specs, or things I’ll be sorry about later, with respect to sound quality (which seems OK to me so far) and usage of disc space.

2.  As for disc space, I’ve begun trolling on-line for a 16gb MicroSD card and – although I’m hardly new to Internet gadget shopping – am a bit thrown by the wild range of pricing: e.g., Sandisk 16gb at anywhere from $25 or $30 (at Amazon, Buy.com, and various Ebay vendors) to $40, $50, even $75 for what appears to be the same Class 2 card. I like the 25 better than the 75, so the question is: how afraid need I be of the low-ball prices? Are these fakes & forgeries? If so, do the forgeries work anyway, even if they’re not true-blue Sandisk? Would love to hear from a couple of you who have traveled this terrain before me.

Msny thanks.

On the card, there are counterfeits around that tell your computer they have lots of space but actually don’t. So if you really go bottom-feeding at places like eBay, you might get junk.

Buy.com and woot.com are pretty iffy too for other products, so personally I would not trust their cards. 

However, a card from Amazon.com or newegg.com (good cheap electronics) should have some kind of guarantee and the seller has a reputation to protect, so you can shop by price as long as you avoid obvious sleazeballs.

You might as well get Sandisk; they make their own memory instead of buying it wholesale, like Kingston.