Audio book

Hi, I am new to the Sandisk fuze. I have a Bible audio books on 3 cd’s in mp3 format. I loaded it computer

I used the windows media and I tried to rip it, and nothing happens. I tried a regular cd and ripped it and it

came out good and I was able to transfer it to the Fuze. Any suggestions will help. Thanks…

what audio format are they?

Welcome!

The only issue you’re likely to run in to with a ripping engine like Windows Media Player concerns the names of your individual audio tracks or files.  Once we cure this, you can easily navigate through your audio book, in this case, the Bible.

Here’s the primary problem:  when ripping an audio CD, we’re dealing with a known, published music CD, with names for the individual tracks, even album information, cover art, et cetera.

With an audio book, we’re dealing with a musc more specialized media.  As you converted the CD using WiMP, were the original files standard CD audio, or MP3 files?  This is easily determined of the CD is made to play on a home stereo, portable CD player- the tracks are standard CD PCM audio format.  PCM files have no names embedde within them, hence out issue.

MP3, on the other hand, has a secret weapon: the MP3 format includes metadata, or embedded information, that tells us just what the files are.  These are the ID3 tags that you will see mentioned often here in the Sansa Forums.  No worries!  We’ll get you up to speed.

In a nutshell, the Sansa navigates (lists) your audio files based upon the ID3 tag information in the files.  This is the Album / Artist / Genre / Song information we need.

Download this handy tool,MP3Tag, a free application.  With MP3Tag, you can edit the tag information, and your Bible can be indexed properly.  For a Bible audiobook, you will need to change the genre of the tracks to audiobook.  This will allow you to separare the Bible (or any spoken word tracks, for that matter) from your music files, making things more convenient