An unpleasant experience with the RMA support process

History:

I have 3 SanDisk cards. I’ve been using the first two for several years. Very satisfied.

Problem:

I had a randomly data loss issue with my new SanDisk Ultra Class10 SDXC 64GB card. Lately, I also found the random write protection and mount failing problem.

Situation:

• I contacted the SanDisk support. It’s a quick and well managed process integrated with phone and email. I get the RMA number successfully.
  • I went onboard to the RMA drop center in Shanghai. A support person helped me on the issue. She helped me reformatted my card and tested with a card reader several times without problem.
  • When I mentioned that I am using a MacBook Pro, a support guy (employee # 100513) comes across and mentioned that “None of the Mac machines support SDXC!” When I say actually my MacBook Pro can open and read it but just have random issues, the guy talked to me in a very loud voice that it’s a compatibility issue and the compatibility issues are not covered. There are many other customers around and I feel that I am stupid to not know that’s compatibility issue earlier.
  • I came back with a reformatted disk.

Comment:

• The support person should have solid domain knowledge
  • The support person should try their best to give solid and concrete solution in every round of the communication
    • To do a simply format isn’t that type of solid solution. Given my time spent on the commute, it’s really painful to go to the RMA center twice or more times when the support only go one simple step each time. I am not sure what’s the process behind that, in any way it needs a change or to setup some process to KPI check points to see how many back and forth it takes before the case is closed. If you do a study, that’ll have an impact to the overall customer satisfaction.
  • The support person should set the customer expectation when their solution probably won’t work