Reply
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-23-2010

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

I just got the Fuze+ today, and I got Handbrake to work on my first try.   I converted an MKV to MP4.

 

Handbrake 0.9.4.  Sansa on the latest firmware (1.32 I think).

 

I used the Legacy|Classic profile on Handbrake with the following settings:

Picture | 320x240

Video | MPEG4, 25fps

Audio | AAC, 44.1 samplerate, 128 bitrate

SanDisk User
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎12-21-2010

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

 


bill2000 wrote:

I just got the Fuze+ today, and I got Handbrake to work on my first try.   I converted an MKV to MP4.

 

Handbrake 0.9.4.  Sansa on the latest firmware (1.32 I think).

 

I used the Legacy|Classic profile on Handbrake with the following settings:

Picture | 320x240

Video | MPEG4, 25fps

Audio | AAC, 44.1 samplerate, 128 bitrate


 

You can use 30fps, and 192 bitrate for audio.

Also, your Video bitrate can be 1000kbs.

SanDisk Fanatic
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

[ Edited ]

It seems as though bitrate and frame rate do not matter at all. Earlier last night, I converted a DVD for my Fuze+, but forgot to resample the audio (from 48k, which is what DVDs use, to 44.1K, the "required" rate), and accidently created a file with too high a sample rate. However, the Fuze+ played it just fine, without problems.

 

Also, The Fuze+ can NOT play MPEG-4 AVC video streams which use more than one reference frame. If you do have two or more reference frames, you must convert/reconvert the file, so that there is only one reference frame.

 

Edit: Yes it can. I seem to have been wrong. As many as seven reference frames can be used.

Tired of the Sansa Media Converter? Try Video4Fuze! It can create smaller videos than SMC, and is WAY more reliable!!!!

SanDisk Fanatic
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

[ Edited ]

Also,

 


primetechv2 wrote:

After reading the specs for video conversion, I decided to give things a test run. I fired up HandBrake and put in the specs, as close as I could... couldn't get 192kbps audio so I settled for 168, and used 29.97 fps instead of 30 (close?)

 

The video was output as a .m4v file. Does the file extention matter, or just the way it's encapsulated? I copied it to my Fuze+ and it... didn't work.

 

When I attempted to copy it the first time around, Windows 7 (compliments of K-Lite) detected the "wrong" type of file, and offered to convert it to the proper type instead. I said yes the second time around, and it made a file that was playable... somewhat. It took about 10 more minutes to convert the file into a proper MP4, with an inferior size of 176x96, 271kbps total, and a framerate of 29FPS.

 

But what irks me is that while the video works if you press Play, that's it. You can't fast-forward, pause, resume... anything, without screwing up the video.

 

So I'm off to try SMC right now, see what I did wrong. Should I be using something besides Handbrake maybe?


Based on the information that you've provided, I'm going to take a guess and say that your video "should" work. Since it didn't, I have to wonder what caused your problem.

 

Did you try renaming the file as an *.mp4 file? If not, I'm guessing your Fuze+ will not recognize the file as a video file.

 

If your problem was that your computer was telling you that the file will not work, maybe you  should just ignour the error, and copy the video, anyway.

 

If that doesn't solve your problem, maybe you should download the Media Info Gui (just click your os, and download the GUI, NOT the CLi or Dll unless you know what you are doing), and set the output format as HTML. Then, open your video file, and make sure it says the following: A.) a profile of "Baseline@Level 2", and B.) no more than one seven reference frames.

 

Tired of the Sansa Media Converter? Try Video4Fuze! It can create smaller videos than SMC, and is WAY more reliable!!!!

SanDisk Fanatic
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎09-05-2007

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

[ Edited ]

What are the Fuze+ video requirements for placement of video files in the directory structures?  Must all videos be placed in some specific folder like a "Videos" folder on both internal and card storage?

 

My particular question is this:

 

       If a video file is in the root folder of a micro SD card, will it be playable by the Fuze? 

 

 

I have not found the answer to this question in the user guide (it only talks of loading video via SMC), nor on this forum, and the question has gone unanswered in another thread:

 

Thanks.

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-07-2011

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

First, most replies might have to be explained in "Books for dummies". I converted some of my avi (xvid) to my fuse using the SMC. It seem to do fine. So i wanted to convert more and the same one from before and put them on the microSD. But could not get it to do anything(the convert would not highlight) I want to have differant SDs with music,video,pictures. I wanted to be able to use them in other devices that would play MPEG4, JPEG, MP3. I have notice that most devices will play these formats(at least that what they say). Most of my formats are AVI,3gp,WMV, and maybe apple music. I have not tried Handbrake yet cause it wont work on my HP netbook(not enough resolution). Looking for free converter cause on very tight budget. thankyou for any help.

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,074
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements


jj2me wrote:

 

My particular question is this:

 

       If a video file is in the root folder of a micro SD card, will it be playable by the Fuze? 

 


 

Why don't you try it and see for yourself? Then you and post the answer for everyone. It would most likely be quicker than waiting for a response from someone else. Smiley Wink

 

SanDisk Fanatic
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎09-05-2007

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

 


Tapeworm wrote:

jj2me wrote:

 

My particular question is this:

 

       If a video file is in the root folder of a micro SD card, will it be playable by the Fuze? 

 

 


 

 

Why don't you try it and see for yourself? Then you and post the answer for everyone. It would most likely be quicker than waiting for a response from someone else. Smiley Wink

 


 

Yes, that's a good idea.  But something seems wrong that I'd have to buy a Fuze+  to find out whether I want to buy a Fuze+. 

 

Sheesh.

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,074
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements


jj2me wrote:

 

Yes, that's a good idea.  But something seems wrong that I'd have to buy a Fuze+  to find out whether I want to buy a Fuze+. 

 

Sheesh.


Ooops, sorry . . . I thought you already had one.

 

Smiley

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2011

Re: Fuze+ Video Requirements

I have used SMC to successfully convert a video from Youtube - from what I've read, that shouldn't have happened. But I have also tried using Any Media Converter, and then SMC, as per instructions seen online, with no results. I'm about to try Any again, and hope for the best.