Complete XP-using Newbie's Easy Guide to Getting the Most out of the Fuze!

Given that this board has been very helpful to me, as a complete newbie to the Fuze, I want to write up everything I’ve learned through this board to successfully use the Fuze to its fullest. Hopefully it will be useful to someone.

The following is very conservative. My main goal is to have something which works consistently with my current hardware and software, with absolutely no problems. I’ve achieved that for myself. Everything in this post is what I’ve actually tested, and what I currently use.

With all that said, here is my epic initial post on this forum.

In reading up on media players, I decided to go with… the Sansa Fuze! It supports Ogg Vorbis in the newer firmware versions, currently has almost full Rockbox support on the version 1 models, and has a micro SD slot. It will support easy Windows drop-and-drag when in MSC mode.

I pick up an 8GB model off eBay for less than $40, and get ready to dive into tools.

I’m not a power user when it comes to computer ownership, and at this point I’m down to having only an Acer Aspire One netbook, running XP SP3. I’ve had issues in the past with Windows Media Player, and want to avoid it doing something screwy to my preexisting music files, so I’m going to use software which is free, and which won’t try to disallow something based on its idea of DRM (Digital Rights Management).

At this point, I’ve bought a few Fuzes, some in less than stellar condition. The following procedures are my way of trying to be as successful as possible.