Reply
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2013

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21

I have just updated to the latest firmware, but I have the same RDS bug as I had with previous firmware. The radio stations names are always wrong, they are made of 4 random letters (XWLS and so on) and I don't understand why. Anyone can help with this?

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 8,152
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21

Not that I like it, but I seem to recall, from long ago, that SanDisk explained that it can't guarantee the RDS feature (it almost sounded like this was a beta-like feature, despite what the product info. had indicated).  Perhaps I'm mis-recalling this, however--it was from when the Zip first came out, years ago.

 

Also, where are you located?  It has seemed, over time, that U.S. users have had better luck with this feature than users outside the U.S.

 

Again, not that this is any solace to you.  

Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-08-2013

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21

Thanks for your answer. I'm located in Italy. The strange thing is that the station name is wrong, but any further information (track name and so on) is correct. 

SanDisk Senior User
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎09-23-2008

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21


gaboz wrote:

Thanks for your answer. I'm located in Italy. The strange thing is that the station name is wrong, but any further information (track name and so on) is correct. 


It may not be any consolation but RDS is flaky here in the US too.  There's one group of radio stations owned by the same company in my area where all of them show the wrong call letters but the track info shows properly.  All the other stations in the area though show proper station call letters though.  There must be something in the broadcast standard that allows different ways to send that info and the Clip doesn't get it right with the stock firmware.

 

Yet another reason to give Rockbox a try....

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,060
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21


tnmats wrote:
It may not be any consolation but RDS is flaky here in the US too. 

 

Yet another reason to give Rockbox a try....



Yet another reason to call the station and complain. They're the ones who input what gets displayed via RDS.

Newbie
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-04-2012

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21

This firmware download doesn't work. Downloads but then it's like there is no info in the bin file. Not transferrable! 

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,060
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21


curiouscat wrote:

This firmware download doesn't work. Downloads but then it's like there is no info in the bin file. Not transferrable! 


 

Did you download it from the link in the 1st post in this thread? Did you extract the .zip file first? It seems to be working OK for me.

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 8,152
Registered: ‎12-11-2007

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21

Are you following the step-by-step instructions above for installing the firmware?  Again, step-by-step?

Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-14-2013

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21

[QUOTE] I just don't get it when tech. companies ignore basic and logical consumer user needs . . . .   :smileysad: [/QUOTE]

 

Since the mp3 only costs $35, it's basically disposable and not a high ticket item. IMO.

SanDisk Guru
Posts: 16,060
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Sansa Clip Zip Firmware 01.01.21


Tapeworm wrote:

curiouscat wrote:

This firmware download doesn't work. Downloads but then it's like there is no info in the bin file. Not transferrable! 


 

Did you download it from the link in the 1st post in this thread? Did you extract the .zip file first? It seems to be working OK for me.


 

Another thought . . . are you downloading and attempting to install the correct firmware for your player? If you try to put on one that doesn't match it will not do anything, which sounds like what you are experiencing.

 

According to your posting history, you have never posted in the Clip Zip board before, or mentioned you had a Clip Zip. All of your previous posts have been regarding a Fuze model. Could this be what's happening? The Fuze firmware is located here.