Requesting Some General Help, Please. . .Thank You!!

Hello All,

I am new to this forum and this community. I am also relatively new to SanDisk, as well. I have been an avid user of Apple products, but am considering a change here at the moment.

I do not own any Sansa products as of yet, but am very seriously considering getting an 8GB ClipZip (or, if not a “Zip”, then either a Clip+ or a Fuze+ — but most likely the “Zip”, though).

Having said that, I have a few questions, and wonder if someone can help clear up some confusion for me. Mostly having to do with music and audio formats, and things of this nature. 

I realize that getting a Sansa product will mean I will no longer be using iTunes for music management. Herein lies a few issues for me (and please forgive me for my ignorance in this regard). Over the past 3 to 4 years I have purchased several (hundreds) of song tracks from the iTunes Store. It has just recently come to my attention that using these with a non-Apple player is going to be a challenge, to say the least. I am not sure I completely understand all of the DRM-related restrictions regarding these music files, however if I’m not mistaken I do believe that much of these restrictions were done away with by Apple nearly 3 years ago (again, something I just recently found out about).